Reality TV—Stranger Than Fiction, Part 2

Okay, those of you who’ve read my blog posts over the past several years know about my love/hate relationship with reality TV.  I hate it; my family loves it.  Seriously, I don’t get the draw.  If I’m going to spend time watching television, I’d rather watch something that takes me away from real life; maybe to an estate in England, perhaps. Highclere_Castle I try to get my husband interested in the life of the Earl of Grantham, his family and the staff of Downton Abbey, but it seems he’s got gold fever.  He’s obsessed with ordinary people digging for gold in Alaska.  Not that they’re ordinary people at all.  I’m not sure I’d want to hang out with any of the ruffians on that show.  Except for maybe eighteen-year-old Parker Schnabel.  Yo, Parker, if you strike it rich, I’ve got the teenage girl for you!

The demand for reality TV hasn’t dimmed, apparently, because a friend of mine was approached to help develop a show about her son’s travel baseball team.  Teen Slugger Dads, maybe?  She hasn’t decided whether to take the gig, but the offer would be a nice pay day.  Now she just has to decide if it is lucrative enough to put her family under such scrutiny.

All this got me to thinking; would I want to subject myself to having my life exposed on reality TV?  It depends.  My daily life is pretty boring, so it couldn’t be about that.  Anyone who knows me knows that Survivor is a definite no can do.  Dancing with the Stars is out, too, just ask anyone in my step class.  amazing raceMy favorite reality show is the Amazing Race and my husband and I always joke that our children need to learn to drive a standard transmission car, just in case they ever get on the race.  Of course, if any of the roadblocks had to be done in the dark, they’d pretty much knock me out of it.  Then there are the tasks that involve eating bizarre foods. Yuck!  And bungee jumping would. Not. Happen.  So I guess that’s a no for that show, too.  Too bad.  It looks fun. From a distance.

What Not to WearOf course, if Clinton Kelly and Stacy London jump out and ambush me, I wouldn’t run.  I could always use a nice lesson in What Not to Wear.  The shopping spree on their dime wouldn’t hurt either.  My husband would definitely choose digging for gold.  Or maybe a trip with American Pickers.  Of course, he can just venture in to the garage for that one.

How about you?  Would you ever consider appearing on a reality TV show?  Which one?

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on February 15, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. My absolute worst are the Bachelor/Bachlorette. Seriously the most unhealthy way to start a relationship. Since those “relationships” are about as real as the contestants professions of “love,” and everybody is getting paid, isn’t it false advertising to call it reality TV? But then I imagine that could be said for all of those shows. If I want drama and cat fights, and sometimes I do, I watch NASHVILLE. Religiously.

  2. I’m with you, Tracy. I hate reality TV, except Say Yes To The Dress and Cake Boss. My husband and son love that digging for gold show and I just don’t get the appeal! I think it must be the age old fascination with boys and big equipment. Don’t even get me started on the Bachelor/Bachelorette…

  3. I like watching the Biggest Loser because it’s inspirational to see the contestants find success in weight loss. Haven’t watched it in two years, though. Not a big tv fan.

  4. I can’t say that I’d participate, and I’m not a fan of all reality shows. It depends on the topic, presentation, and who’s involved. I’m generally fascinated with and curious about people, but aside from American Idol or talent shows, there has to be some documentary-style aspect. I like when the truths of life are featured or uncovered, especially if there’s something relatable.

    Great post, Tracy!

  5. I don’t like reality TV unless it’s on Bravo, and then I love all of it. Especially the Real Housewives and Shahs of Sunset are my favorite guilty pleasures. But neither of those programs are even remotely reality ~ I’ve seen the ATL housewives out and about, and they are NOTHING like they are on TV ~ which is what makes them so fun for me to watch. As for participating, never, ever, EVER. I’ve actually been approached for one, but how boring would that be, watching me sit around in yoga pants, typing on a laptop? My day-to-day life is nowhere near entertaining enough for television.

  6. The only reality TV I watch, Tracy, is Ice Road Truckers, and I have absolutely no idea why that’s the only one that holds my interest. It’s certainly not because I want to drive one of those 18 wheeler trucks. And it’s not because I love driving on icy roads. Would I want to be on one? No way. Would I want to direct one? Now, that could be a blast!

    BTW, my husband is hooked on the Alaskan gold rush one, too. He never misses a show. And our youngest son rushes home from work just in time to catch it every Tuesday night at 7:00 when it comes on. I read while it’s on, or cruise the internet. 🙂

  7. No way! I don’t like reality TV and would never consider jumping into the fray. 🙂 TOO private, I guess. Or sane. 🙂

