The Creative Side of Life

Creative people are a different breed.  And I should know.  I “is” one. 🙂  We don’t think like regular people.  Our brains don’t operate in linear fashion.  Well, I take that back.  Creative engineer types make think in linear paths, but I’m no engineer.  I’m a writer.  An artist.

From creative stories to pencil drawings, I’ve always had a penchant to craft, create, make up stories…  Over the years, I’ve won awards, earned recognition for my efforts.  I won the fourth grade writing contest.  The high school drawing contest.  It’s a natural gift that has come in handy–one I’m especially reminded of after a few hours spent reminiscing with my brothers.

“Remember the time we told mom…”

Yes, well, it’s been fun, nurturing this creative streak of mine.  And I love nurturing it full-time as an author.  While not always grammatically correct, my voice is my own.  It’s unique.  Like a finger print, you can read my work and hear me tell you a story, one I hope you’ll enjoy.  But as a self-pubbed author, I find my talents can be “stretched” at times.  Currently at work on creating the covers for my 2013 Ladd Springs series, I find honing the vision can be difficult to translate into words.

Ladd Springs_Book1-LG

And when I say I’m creating the covers, mind you, I speak loosely.  Very loosely.  I have one of the most fabulous artists designing the covers for me–namely one Jax Cassidy–and she’s simply amazing.  She has a great eye for covers, for color.  She sees things I don’t, comes up with ideas I’d never even think of, yet she allows me input into the process.

Therein lies the problem–or thrill!  Depending on which side of the conversation you’re operating from.  Like anything else, cover design is a process.  It’s small changes that make a big difference.  It’s an overall vision that must run consistent with your story, your characters, your fictional world.  Your readers must be able to relate.

For me, it’s a fun process.  Until my perfectionist brain cells kick in and my real life brain cells have to shut them down, that is.  Then, like the tiny weeds in my garden, I have to ignore the impulse to say, “One more 1/16th of an inch and by George, I think we’ve got it!”

Sort of like when friends visit my 400 ft. X 100 ft. garden.  They don’t notice the teeny-weeny weeds.  They’re taking in the entire effect, the overall beauty and grandeur.  Aesthetically pleasing, the leaves and fruits and vegetables appeal to a part of their brain that doesn’t even know what a weed is–can’t even compute the image.

There are days in writing and cover design when it behooves me to remember this little fact of life.  Give readers the “pop” of imagery, the overall emotions of your story–and then trust them.  They’ll open the book, move past the cover and lose themselves between the pages.

Anyone else know what I mean?  For a preview of my upcoming Ladd Springs series, go here.

Posted on March 4, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. What a beautiful, gorgeous cover! I’m not kidding. This is one of those books I’d pick up and read the back-cover blurb just because of the beauty of the front design. Great artist your’ve got there, Dianne.

    • Thanks Patti! And I agree–she’s really good. I’m lucky to have her for this series, especially since she’s trimming her design workload to focus more on her writing.

  2. Beautiful cover, Dianne! And, yes I know what you mean. I’m a bit of a perfectionist when it comes to something with my name on it. I think that’s typical of a all of us creative people. 🙂

  3. Christy Hayes

    Cover design is fun and frustrating. Finding the right partner in this creative endeavor is very important. Love your cover and good luck with the series!

  4. Dianne, those perfectionist tendencies are mind boggling. When we’re thinking logically, we wonder how that 1/16th of an inch can make a different. When when we think with our heart — which is tied so strongly to our creative side — we just know that 1/16th of an inch is going to make everything perfect. LOL

    I love your cover! 🙂

  5. Thanks for the reality check and you are so right. Appreciate the kind words on my cover!

