Who would you be?

 

dogondock 

Do you ever wish you could look off in your past or even off in other people’s lives and be someone else, or live in their shoes?  Even if just a day…or a week?

I ask this because while I’m still writing on my current novel, the “new idea” gremlins are beginning their game with me.  I’m playing with a novella idea of a woman who goes on vacation and due to circumstances falling in her lap, pretends to be someone else for a weekend, someone she’s always envied.

Have you ever thought about that?  If you could be someone else for a day, who would it be?

🙂

 

About Sharla Lovelace

Writer of romantic women's fiction. Wife, mom, and wonderwoman...without the boobs. National Bestselling Author of THE REASON IS YOU, BEFORE AND EVER SINCE, and the e-novella JUST ONE DAY. Lover of anything red.

Posted on March 6, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Darn it all Sharla … As a girl Audry Hepburn because she was so tiny and graceful and I was … not. As a teenager the kids in school told me to go to Calif. and audition for the Carol Burnett show … well I was funny and I still have a big mouth.

    Now? Since gremlins invaded my new house, wreaked havoc with my computer, trashed my car and laid to ruin my peaceful life … I’d be happy with me and I’d use the get-away to regroup before those little suckers come back for another assault on my life 🙂 Good writing with the new book !!

  2. Wow, good question. I think I’ve mellowed with age. I’ve spent the last several years working to be content with who I am. The grass is always greener, but sink holes might be bigger. 🙂 Like Florence, I might just want to run off on my own some place and regroup–or finish this manuscript in uninterrupted bliss!

  3. I hate to sound like a broken record, but it has taken many years to be happy with myself, so…

    Maybe if I had the chance, I’d be my younger self for a day and slap some sense into my own thick head!

  4. Well, there are days when I wish I was Sharla Lovelace, especially when I’m in the middle of one of your books and wishing I could write stories like you do. 🙂 Other times, I swear I’m coming back as a man, just so I can experience life in their boots. Or pick a world traveller, any traveller, and I’d like to be him or her for a while.

    But for the most of the year, I’m happy to be me. Like everyone else, I’ve worked hard to be who I am today, and you know, I kind of like that gal. 🙂

    Can’t wait to read your upcoming book, Sharla!

  5. While I agree with all of you….I have to be happy with being me, too… there has to be another train of thought or there wouldn’t be books. Or Lifetime movies…lol!

    So if I were to pick someone else to be for a day, I’d be Katherine Hepburn. I would have loved to see the inside of her mind. 🙂

    Although Sheila’s idea of being a man for a day would be enlightening as well! LOL

  6. This is gonna sound so corny, but I’m glad to be me. I don’t want to be anyone else.

    Thinking back several years, I can remember that I used to imagine different scenarios for my life. Now I can say it’s because of all the unhappiness I carried, the marital dysfunction I lived with, but what’s so amazing is that the life decisions I’ve made the last couple years have made it so that I can become just who I need to be—exactly who I am, with room to grow and improve, manifesting life just as I want it.

    PS. I love the dog in that picture!

