The Directionally Challenged Weathervane

weathervane1If you remember, last year I blogged about a new garden area we were designing. We spent the summer with a shovel in our hands, turning over the dirt, then built a small garden shed which we planned to let weather naturally so one day it would take on the appearance of those old buildings you see falling down around an old farm yard. This summer, we’ll work up the soil and fill the garden area around the shed with cedars and a variety of flowering bushes and plants.

But I’m getting ahead of myself…

This winter, while we watched the snow fly and wondered if it would ever stop, we jumped online and ordered a weathervane from the Urban Nature Store.

Then my better half built a cupola, similar to the one on this site.

weathervane2Now while we wait for the snow to melt and the weather to warm, the weathervane and cupola sit just outside of the kitchen window on our deck.

Today during lunch, the wind howled and brought in colder weather along with some – soon to arrive – additional snow. Our lunchtime conversation eventually turned to the direction the weathervane was pointing in. The arrow pointed south, so I said that the wind was coming out of the north and blowing south.

Apparently, I’ve spent my entire life reading weathervanes incorrectly.

I always believed that the arrow on the weathervane pointed in the same direction as the wind was blowing. This makes perfect sense to me. After all, if you shoot a bow and arrow, the arrow flies arrow-first, right?

According to my better half and youngest son, the arrow on the weather vane points into the wind. While this makes absolutely no sense to me, I’ve decided that I’m not the one that’s directionally challenged this time (although if you remember this other post, you might choose to differ). Our weathervane is directionally challenged, pointing backwards in the wrong direction.

Am I the only one who believes the arrow on a weathervane points in the direction of the wind?

About Sheila Seabrook

Author of Single Title Romantic Comedy and Women's Fiction

Posted on March 13, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Oh Sheila, this is too funny for first thing with only one cup of coffee in my bloodstream. Of course, the arrow points in the direction that the wind is traveling. If the arrow points “south” that means the wind is coming from the “north.” It can only go in one direction at a time, soooo … where the arrow points is where the wind is going not where it is coming from. Get it?

    Let your son or husband stand on the deck and have them face the opposite direction of the arrow. If the wind is blowing their hair in their face they are right. If the wind blows their hair back, you are right. I’ll go to the sun porch now and have another cup of coffee 🙂

  2. Ohmigosh! Too funny. I remember having a similar conversation with my daughter when she was first learning about weather. 🙂

  3. Well, Sheila, I agree with you. I grew up with a weathervane and cupola until I was 10 and the way I see it, if the rooster or whatever is pointing south then the wind is coming from the north. Are we all messed up or what? Maybe I should Google it.
    Patti

  4. I must confess that I too thought the arrow pointed in the direction the wind is blowing. How can it work the other way?

    Oh, I arrow’s backwards. Wait – what? I still don’t get it.

    Thanks for sharing and adding to my confusion. Good luck with the garden.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  5. Apparently I’m as confused as you are, Sheila! In my case, that’s not surprising!

  6. After reading everyone’s comments here, I went and asked my husband if he was pulling my leg. He said no. My son says to think of it this way … The rooster looks into the wind so that his feathers don’t get messed up. Okay, that kind of makes sense, but I still think it’s backwards. More testing is required.

  7. Tricky. I never thought about it! Now I’m going to have to stew on it for a bit… 🙂

  1. Pingback: The Directionally Challenged Weathervane | Sheila Seabrook

