POWERFUL JUJU

Attractive girl with scissors

“I cut my bangs with some rusty kitchen scissors.” Those nine little words are the beginning of Miranda Lambert’s new hit song that snatch us into her story. Even if you hate country music, you listen because you have to know why a woman would do such a thing?

Now, let’s get personal. Think back to the last time you cut your own hair. Were you just trimming your bangs a few days ago or were you in a closet with your pretty locks in one hand and a pair of scissors made for hacking through construction paper in the other? And for God’s sake, why did you do it?

Changing your hair to change your life is powerful juju, but I never realized just how powerful until I sat in a roomful of women’s fiction authors at a New York pitch conference. Nineteen of us had come from all over the US to the Big Apple with our hopes and dreams and our manuscripts to sell. Of those, six of them had drastically changed their hair for the trip. Long to short, curls to straight, new colors, you name it, they believed that change would give that little extra oomph to sell their manuscript.

I suspect all of us do things to our hair for the same reason Zora Adams, the protagonist of The Wisdom of Hair did the day her father was buried. She was just nine years old then and was too young to know that she was changing her hair because she wanted change her life. When The Wisdom of Hair begins, Zora is a young woman and things at home are so bad, she’s contemplating shaving her head. But she puts the clippers down and does something braver than the change that comes with a new hairdo. She opts to leave home for beauty school and a chance at a better life. For the first time ever, Zora has real friends and a true BFF. Sure she has a hot romance with the wrong guy, but her friends help her sort things out and she finds her calling fixing hair and changing lives.

Okay, back to you. Now that you know you change your hair to change your life, what does that do for you? Since I realized this truth, it’s made me question my motives before I beg my stylist to go three shades lighter or for bangs. Again. But when I do get a new hairstyle, when I believe in the wisdom of hair, it makes the change that comes with that new hairdo all the more powerful and real. I hope it does the same for you.

Posted on March 18, 2013, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I agree, Kim. When I’m tempted to change my hair, it is because I’m dissatisfied with something in my life. Unfortunately for my stylist, I “trim” my bangs all the time. Not sure what that means other than I’m lazy!

  2. I love that, “the hacker.” I may use that in the sequel 🙂

  3. I agree, too. Usually when life gets too crazy and I start feeling it slip out of my control, I do something drastic to my hair. If it’s dark, I go with highlights. If it’s highlighted, I go dark (hubby hates that one. 🙂 ) Chop it short, whatever. Something I can control.

    For a little while. 😉

    By the way…that’s one of my favorite songs! “Cross your legs…dot your I’s…and never let ’em see you cry……” Love Miranda L.!

  4. And here I always thought I was changing my hair because I was being vain, LOL! But you know, you’re right, Kim. When I get bored with life, instead of taking a vacation, I change my hairstyle. Hmmm, I think I need to take more vacations. 🙂

  5. I think we change our hair because it’s the easiest thing to change. You can’t change your body, your job, your family or anything as quickly, and drastically, as you can change your hair. I tend to go short when I’m feeling overwhelmed, as if the extra hair is what’s weighing me down. 🙂

  6. I would be extremely well traveled if I did that, Tracy.

  7. I love changing my hair. It makes me feel in control of one part of my body/image that’s fairly easy to do. I have my stylist put in highlights and dye the roots, give me a bunch of layers and a trim and do my bangs which grow WAY too fast and voila’–I feel so much better about life. At least for several weeks while it’s doing exactly what I want. Then it starts to grow out again and the bangs get to long and I, too, turn into a hacker.
    Patti

  8. I’ve never had the guts to do something drastic. I’ll entertain the notion briefly, but then dismiss it. I guess I’m content to have a normal color and cut… But then I have naturally curly hair, which is difficult to do trendy or extreme styles with. Maybe if it weren’t for that, I’d be more adventurous.

