Old Town Spring…

In light of recent events this week, I’m glad I already planned on posting a celebration of family time.  Or mother/daughter time at least.  I think we need to hug our loved ones extra tight this week.  And then once more for good measure.

This past weekend, my daughter and I embarked on a short girls trip.  We (we, meaning me, while she babbled constantly about her latest story idea…:) ) drove a little over two hours to Spring, TX, within which is a section called Old Town Spring.  We have just a little over a month till she graduates, and 82 days till she leaves for the Navy. Leaves Texas for Chicago and then San Diego, and then ports unknown.

Not wanting to give up my baby just yet, I wanted one more vacation. 🙂

spring20

Old Town Spring is the original railroad town, with all the buildings and old houses renovated into restaurants and shops.  Many many many shops, so many it takes two days to hit them all.

spring21

But we are Lovelace women.  Which means the root of our lives and our very existence is food.  Never enough food.

spring13 spring14 spring15

I don’t recall getting hungry…not even once.  We never had the opportunity to get hungry, because as soon as that rolling-hippopotamus feeling passed, we’d pass a stand of something or other…. and start all over again.

There were cool things, like standing in an old vault in an old bank that still had the bullet holes from when Bonnie and Clyde robbed it. 🙂

spring6

And the rumors of the ghosts that inhabit this town, especially this restaurant that was built in 1902 for the railroad workers.

spring23

My daughter got her palm read and was told she’d live to probably 90, but had had 3 very close calls to death…which was a little unnerving.  Especially the way she drives.  Got to see a house that had been everything from a funeral home to a hippie commune, and has a secret room no one can find.   Read this…

spring7

spring9that would be the crazy girl…hiding behind the fence…

And at night, we’d do what we do.  Did the TV come on for us girls?  No.  Not once.  We read and we did this.  Because we’re word freaks.  Can’t imagine where she gets it.   o.O

spring1

About Sharla Lovelace

Writer of romantic women's fiction. Wife, mom, and wonderwoman...without the boobs. National Bestselling Author of THE REASON IS YOU, BEFORE AND EVER SINCE, and the e-novella JUST ONE DAY. Lover of anything red.

Posted on April 17, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. You are so smart to take time with her before she leaves the nest. Thanks for sharing your memories! My nephew is in the Navy and he loves it. He has grown so much and experienced things he never would have without joining.

  2. Sharla, I love little towns like this! I’ve traversed through quite a few up and down the east coast of the U.S. and it’s my kind of vacation. So glad you got this time with your daughter. 🙂

  3. Yum on the food–it reminds me of my current series!

  4. Sounds awesome! And the food looks fantastic. I saw some of your pictures on Facebook, and thought something special must’ve been up. 🙂

    I’m hoping to do a similar weekend with my girls this summer. Not too far from us, and in the same direction, are both Walt Disney’s and Mark Twain’s childhood homes. The towns are full-on touristy, of course. I think it would make for a great weekend getaway.

    • Do it, Janna!! So worth it to make those memories. I wish I could have done more with her when she was smaller, but money was much less accessible then. I’m glad we got this time, it was priceless. 🙂 Mark Twain’s childhood home would be so cool!

  5. Sharla, you mentioned your daughter was thinking about her latest story idea. Is she going to be a writer like her mom?

    I love visiting old towns and have my eye on one that I hope to get to this summer. Last time I was there, I was 13 years old. 🙂

    • LOL yes she is a writer, Sheila. She doesn’t write it all down, she carries them around in her head, and occasionally gets around to typing them up and then I’m in awe. If she’d nurture that a little, she could be amazing one day. She has more raw gift there than I could ever hope to have. But who knows if she’ll ever seriously pursue it. You know how kids are….tell them they are good at something and they blow you off. 🙂

