Debbie Downer Does it Again…

My family went to a wonderful concert at the University of Georgia (my alma mater) stadium last weekend featuring Jason Aldean, Luke Bryan, and Jake Owen. The stadium was packed, the music was wonderful, and the weather was PERFECT. Seriously, it was a very rare evening in the south.concert

We had my two kids with us along with another thirteen-year-old and two fifteen-year-olds. The concert started at six and we all got to our feet to enjoy the show not long before Jake Owen took the stage. As the sun set and Jake relinquished the stage to Luke, the group of students behind us began to get a little rowdy, dancing and hollering along to the music. No problem, except they were dancing on top of our seats.

The girl directly behind my daughter and I had a cross body purse with a big metal clasp. After getting knocked in the back and arm several times by her purse, I tapped her on the shoulder and asked if she’d please move her purse to the back of her body since it kept hitting us. She leaned down, looked me right in the eye and said, “You want me to move my purse?” as if I’d just asked her to strip naked and run through the crowd.

I didn’t know she’d already smarted off to my husband when he asked her to get down from his seat so he could sit down. When he heard her reply, he told her to get off the seat. She flatly refused to our shock and dismay, so he took off and returned a few minutes later with cops. She’d beat a hasty retreat by this time and left her friends to deal with her mess, but not before berating me in front of my kids. The only good thing I can say is that she didn’t use foul language. I bit my tongue and told her how proud her parents must be of her, and of course, according to her, they are. I beg to differ.

I relayed this story to a friend and he told me something similar happened to him recently at the Final Four tournament. Two students were standing in front of him when the entire section was seated. He asked the boys to please sit down and the student told him to, “stand the **** up.” Needless to say, the boys sat. 🙂

I don’t think these two examples are the norm; I still believe most of America’s young adults behave much better than these two, but it still leaves me staggered and mostly just sad. Perhaps right along with reading, writing, and arithmetic, our schools should dedicate teaching time to character education and reward students who do the right thing. Perhaps us parents need to do the same, although sadly, mine got an up-close and personal lesson that night.

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on April 22, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. If I’d been at the final game of the final four, I’d have had a hard time sitting down, too. It was one of the best games I’ve seen in a long time.

  2. This is definitely a problem at these events–especially when alcohol is involved. Most of the student body was tailgating all day that Saturday and I’ve heard run-ins like yours were the norm. It’s a shame.

  3. I’ve never encountered such behavior and I’m around teenagers all the time. Your experience makes me sad because I think these kids would have been taught by their parents to be respectful of adults as well as each other, of course. I know games can get out of hand and I’ve been to Giants games where people are all standing and cheering. However when 99% of the observers sit down, so does everyone else so that you can see. I would have been very upset – just like you. And there’s no excuse for how she treated you or your husband. And, no, her parents would probably have been humiliated to see how she acted.

  4. I hate hearing things like that, it makes me so mad to see young people with no respect for others. This will make me sound old, but when I was young, you didn’t dare speak out of turn or disrespectfully to adults. And if I’d ever dared to do such a thing, my world would have been in a serious state of hurt. I’m so thankful that my daughter….although I may see her snarky sometimes bit**y side, she is respectful to other grownups. She knows I’d string her up if she weren’t. LOL. So sorry that had to mess up your evening!!!

    • I agree, Sharla. So many of us are trying to raise respectful young adults. I hope this is not the norm!

  5. Stuff like that makes me crazy. It makes me want to stand up and shout “What the heck are you parents thinking?”

    Unfortunately, I can’t make better decisions for them. I can only do the best by my children and send two respectful adults into the world.

    Sad. Very sad.

  6. There are always going to be kids out there like that. I used to teach my boys that in the privacy of their bedroom, with their friends, they could do whatever and say whatever they wanted. But if they were out in public, and especially if there was anyone but their friends close by, they better watch their mouth and their manners. They probably knew that if I ever found out they’d acted like the rude kids you dealt with, Christy, I’d hunt them down and make them suffer. 🙂

    • My kids got an earful on the ride home and if they didn’t know before, they certainly know now!

  7. It’s frightening to see the attitudes that young people have no qualms about displaying. There seems to be a trend toward meanness in society nowadays and it is sad that it has changed from a time where any adult felt comfortable reprimanding bad behavior to now when you don’t know if you will be faced with a weapon or other hostile behavior.

  8. There’s a certain lack of common courtesy and manners these days, and it’s disgusting.

    I’m glad you’re able to hold on to the good parts of the show. Sounds like a great time!

