It’s Almost Summer Vacation Time!

images-340

Spring has sprung and it’s heating up. We had a mini-heat wave this past week with temps reaching 77 degrees. Today it will max out at 63 degrees. But the times they are a changing and I am ready. I’m a person who’s very affected by the weather. I get down when it’s cold and rainy. I’m happiest when the sun is shining. I am so excited to be able to sit out on my deck again and write or read a book, perhaps take a little nap around 2 p.m. before I have to pick up my daughter from school. This is my favorite season.

We’re at that point in time when I have to plan for a vacation if we want to do something away from home. Last year we tried Santa Barbara. The weather was beautiful but we knew that anyway. I lived in Santa Barbara for eight years and it’s always nice there. However, we weren’t prepared for the amount of traffic and people and the city has changed a bit. There are a lot of homeless people which is sad, but I’d pick Santa Barbara over the freezing East Coast if I had to live on the streets.

images-341

This year we’re returning to Monte Rio in the Russian River area of California. There are lots of homes on the river and they have to be built way up high above the river due to seasonal flooding. So we have beautiful views of the redwood trees and you can hear birds and crickets. It’s just gorgeous.

What are your plans?

Posted on April 26, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Your trip to Monte Rio sounds wonderful, Patti. We are going to south central Colorado along the Rio Grande. Can’t wait!

  2. I’m jealous, Patti! We are trying to cobble together a family beach week this year, but it gets hard as the kids get older. Everyone is working–YAY–and we have to find a week where we can meet centrally. My husband and I are also going to Naples, Florida for a few days in June to celebrate his 50th. Can’t wait!

    • You say beach and I want to be there! My favorite vacations are on the ocean but this year we couldn’t afford it. And Naples, Florida? I hope you write about it here or somewhere else for us to read!

  3. Patti, the nature lover takes vacations to comune with nature. How perfect. I wish I could be a small furry creature and hitch a ride with you guys … Monte Rio sounds wonderful.

    I live in a climate where its summer six months a year, three months of winter, three months of spring and then summer again.

    And as much as I love NYC, I would not visit in the winter.

    My plans are clear. Swim, take a few short driving trips and write, read, write and read more 🙂

  4. I love your picture of Monte Rio. It looks quiet and calm, the perfect place to relax, Patti. We finally got a day warm enough to get out in the yard. So now we’re planning a short trip for next week, except guess what’s in the forecast? Snow! 🙂

    Enjoy your vacation planning!

  5. Hi there,
    Kim invited a group of us to peek at your blog so I thought I’d wave and say hi. Sounds like a beautiful place to vacation. We haven’t planned anything special but I’d like to visit Yosemite one of these days.

    • Hi Elf! Thanks for stopping by. I’ve only been to Yosemite once in my entire life and I was 16. That was a long time ago but I enjoyed it and it’s supposed to be incredibly beautiful. I can’t remember anything about it!

  6. Gorgeous! Love that river snapshot.

    No plans yet, and won’t be able to do anything too extravagant with my girls over the summer, but am hoping for a fun extended-weekend getaway if nothing else.

    • You go, Janna! Weekends, weeks, days – do whatever to have fun with your girls during the summer. Weekends add up to weeks of vacation time, so it doesn’t matter if you have to split them up. You’ll have fun.

