Daily Archives: May 13, 2013

A List of Favorites

I’m reading Alexandra Sokoloff’s WRITING LOVE: SCREENWRITING TRICKS FOR AUTHORS II. I always read a craft book in between novels to jumpstart my next book and get my head in the right place. Writing Love

In Part One: Story Structure, the assignment is to list ten books and films similar to our story in both genre and structure. She then asks readers to break the stories from our list down and analyze why they have an impact on us specifically. She says the movies and books that make it onto our list say a lot about us and what we like or what we are trying to say with our books.

I find this theory very interesting and thought I’d share my list. We had to list at least five movies and three books. Here’s mine, in no particular order:

1. When Harry Met Sally

2. Love Actually

3. Catch and Release

4. The Wedding Date

5. Pretty Woman

6. Chesapeake Blue (Nora Roberts)

7. Belong to Me (Marisa de los Santos)

8. After You’d Gone (Maggie O’Farrell)

9. Nobody’s Baby but Mine (Susan Elizabeth Phillips)

10. Peachtree Road (Anne Rivers Siddons)

I made this list pretty quickly and I’m sure I left off some good ones, but I feel pretty comfortable with what I’ve put down. I haven’t analyzed what they mean yet, but I’m looking forward to figuring out what it is about each of these works that speaks to me.

Just for fun and if you have the time, I’d love to see a list of your favorite books and movies. If not, go ahead and guess what my list means. 🙂

