I am “The Worrier”

I worry about driving off a mountain cliff and crashing into the ravine below.

I worry about working in the gardens and being attacked by one of the large predators that wander through our yard.

I worry about dying slow and painful instead of dying fast and easy.

WorrierI worry about my mom being alone in her house and having an accident while I’m not there to help her.

I worry about not seeing my siblings when my mom is gone.

I worry about my boys never finding a girl who’ll make them happy or finding one that makes them unhappy.

I worry about my tender new plants getting hit by Jack Frost.

I worry about getting old, gaining weight, going gray, and losing my eyebrows.

I worry I may never finish THIS BOOK or any more after.

I worry about the icy winter roads and the people driving on them.

I worry about the farmers getting too much rain during their spring planting and then again, during their fall harvest.

I worry about the planes passing overhead crashing into my backyard.

I worry about the crickets and frogs in the pond finding their way into my house and <shudder> into my bed.

Frog with boI worry about moving, downsizing into a smaller place, and having to decide what’s necessary and what’s not.

I worry about leaving behind my computer and iPad and iPhone, and not being connected to the world.

I worry endlessly, needlessly, about all things big and small.

Why am I not crazy yet or is that still to come? Or are writers naturally worrisome people?

What do you worry about and how do you keep the craziness at bay?

About Sheila Seabrook

Author of Single Title Romantic Comedy and Women's Fiction

Posted on May 15, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. When I first read the title, I thought it said, ‘The Warrior.’

    • LOL! Wouldn’t that make a great blog title … I am The Warrior. πŸ™‚

      • This is so funny to me. My working title to my first book was “The Warrior Husband”. My sister and I joked about my spouse being “The Worrier Husband” because he thinks about stuff like the construction crane collapsing on our car while we are at a stoplight.

        I, on the other hand, worry about money, money, money, and why my books aren’t selling. Wish I could stop. Thanks for letting me know I am not alone!

        • Jill, I’m laughing over “The Worrier Husband” because my brain would totally see the crane and go “OMG, it’s going to collapse and crush our car!!!” LOL!

  2. Christy Hayes

    Before a close friend died, I used to worry about all those things and admittedly still do, but now I worry mostly about the health and safety of my loved ones. Beyond that, everything is in God’s hands. So much of what we worry about is out of our control.

    I know you’ll finish this book and many others πŸ™‚

    • Thankfully, I’ve learned not to worry about everything all of the time, but when I started adding up the list of all the things that I did worry about, I even surprised myself. LOL

  3. OMG I thought the same thing. I thought it said WARRIOR. I went back up and checked and indeed I was wrong. Okay, now I understand. Well, Sheila, I thought I had the medal for the biggest freaking worry wart in the history of mankind but maybe you and I can fight over the award! I have had an anxiety/worry disorder since I was about 20 years old. I have chronic stomach problems from the disorder as well. I look back on my life and I know “when” it began but don’t understand why it continued throughout the rest of my life. Finally, about 3 years ago I found a woman who works with people who have anxiety and depression and ordered her cd’s and it helped me immensely and I am SO much better. I try so hard to live in the “now” and not to worry about what may happen in the future. It’s like being an alcoholic because I have to “try” every day to do that. And I worry about most things, although I try to have an attitude of gratitude and get over myself.
    Patti

    • Patti, it’s so true that worrying all the time can make one sick. I suffered from horrible stomach aches when I was younger. During a rough patch, I went to see a naturopath and was “cured”. Now I rarely suffer with stomach afflictions, but if I do, I know it’s cause I’m worrying overmuch. πŸ™‚

  4. I’m with you, Sheila! I don’t think I’d know how to act if I wasn’t worried about something. πŸ™‚

  5. I admit that I tend to worry to much. I do try very hard to just let it go and relax. That is probably one of my most used phrases Let it go, calm, calm, calm πŸ™‚ I try, I’m not always successful though.

  6. Think of it this way, Sheila. A person who is drunk all the time doesn’t know the difference. To him the world is always under three fingers of bourbon.

    Sooooo, since you worry about every single thing in your entire life, afterlife and beyond … you actually have nothing to worry about. For you worry is normal.

    BTW the definition of crazy is anything that is not within the norms of each person’s small world. So in your world people who don’t worry are crazy πŸ™‚

  7. Well, unfortunately, I too am a worrier and so wish I wasn’t. Its stressful as all hector! I have a friend who has such a healthy outlook on life in general and I try to take a note out of her pad every once in awhile – life is too short to be burdened with worry. So fix what you can, be the best person you can be, admit when you are wrong to those around and then move on, laugh with your friends, love your children fiercely and know you have taught them everything you could – now it is up to them to learn on their own – cherish your husband and make time for the things you enjoy. If you do all of that, there won’t be any time left to worry about the little things!

  8. My Dad always claimed Mom wouldn’t be happy/ know what to do with herself if she didn’t have something to worry about. Of course, Mom worried about that!

    I’m finding it easier to turn off the worry these days – must have something to do with age and wisdom…or maybe it’s just perspective. Meditation really helps, too.

    • It’s true, Cheryl, that a worrier worries about worrying too much. Hmmm, I’m pretty sure there’s a comedic character within that statement. πŸ™‚

  9. I am not someone who worries endlessly but I have a couple of worries that hit me at the core. The biggest is that I will lose my Maine Coon cat Jay. The plan is for us to grow old together. He is just three so it is possible. The thought of him dying tears at me often. He brings me so much love, joy, fun, entertainment that I would be bereft without him. Another huge fear is that I will die with unwritten books inside me, that my urge to write will not be enough to get them out before. When other smaller fears arise I look to see if there is anything I can do to calm them and do it. If not then I immediately find something to distract me and make sure the

    • Susan, may you and your cat Jay live a long and healthy life together. I can picture you at your keyboard, pounding out those words, with Jay purring on your lap. Here’s to writing many books in your lifetime. πŸ™‚

  10. Janna Qualman

    Really good question! I bet on a whole writers are worriers, if only because we are so intense and open to emotion.

    I do worry, but I try to consciously rein it in, balance it with gratitude, and focus on the things I have control over. I don’t want regular worry to keep me from enjoying life, or become so heavy that it makes me cynical and hateful. I’ve seen that in others, and I want to avoid it.

    You’re definitely not crazy, and you’re not alone in this. πŸ™‚

  11. Linda Juliano

    Sorry for finding this so late for a comment, but I wanted to add that very much like Christy Hayes, I let go of much and let God take if for me. It’s true that SO much is out of our hands. I’m a “natural” worrier, meaning I seemed to have been born that way, but I learned long ago that if I keep it up, I’ll develop many health issues, not to mention going crazy. I can’t raise my kids without God’s help, I would go nuts with worry! πŸ˜‰ Honestly.

  12. Linda, you and Christy have the perfect solution to letting go of the worrier inside of you. Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts. πŸ™‚

