An Attitude of Gratitude

My sister Susan is the first person to tell me about the attitude of gratitude. She read about it in a self-help book. It’s always rung true with me. I try to be grateful every day for all the things I have, put a smile on my heart and my face, be thankful for the little things as well as the big ones.

images-352

And I have a lot to be thankful for – on a daily basis. I had my yearly mammogram last Saturday and found out yesterday that all is perfect. Most people know I was diagnosed with DCIS (ductal carcinoma in situ) in 2006. If you’re going to get breast cancer they say that’s the one you want! It can only be detected by a mammogram. You cannot feel it.

I will always be grateful for the radiologists at Alameda Hospital. The cancer is considered Stage Zero – woot! – and mine was so far off the chest wall that I didn’t have to undergo chemotherapy or radiation or take drugs. I was cancer-free the minute I had my mastectomy. Double woot! Therefore I would say, for me, I’m grateful every day for dodging a bigger “C” bullet which would have required one of those horrendous cures.

images-353But each year I enter the Carol Reed Breast Center with dread in my heart, thinking it’s going to come back. So far I’ve remained cancer-free. However I always remember that day in 2006 when I got “the call”. And I’m not talking about “the call” that all authors wait for from that agent to whom they sent their query letter. Ha!

What are you thankful for?

Posted on May 17, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Christy Hayes

    So sorry you had to go through the pain and anxiety of cancer, Patti. I know so many women who face this daily and it breaks my heart.

    Your attitude of gratitude is one I try to live, also. I’m grateful every day for my health and loved ones. Thanks for the reminder and continued good health to you!

  2. The way I look at it, Christy, I really got off easy in comparison to thousands of women who have to undergo chemo and radiation and drug therapy. For that alone, I’m sooo grateful.

  3. Patti, I think the reason you are a strong survivor is your positive attitude. Yes, attitude of graditude. And also an open heart which you have in doubles. I am grateful that I’ve found a time in my life to do what makes me happy. Every single day I wake up and grin … this is so incredible. To have my own place. Like Virginia said … a room of my own. And t have the time to do the things I love … that is a true gift. Thanks for being an inspiration and a loving friend 🙂

    • Geez, Florence, if you were in front of me I’d hug you, so virtual hugs to you for your kind words. I can feel how you feel through your words and what you write in your posts. You’re always upbeat and positive and in a good place. It’s hard to always feel positive but I find that if I look around, it’s not hard to do since the world has spun in so many frightening directions that my little place in it is glorious in comparison.

  4. Hi, Patti! Attitude rocks and you had the best one going in and now look at you-better than ever. When Handsome got throat cancer, that’s the only attitude we could adopt. Every day is special. So awesomely special.

    • Sometimes I think when someone else is sick or gets cancer it’s harder for the person who’s trying to support them because they want to “be there” yet they cannot possibly relate to what it’s like to receive such a scary diagnosis.

  5. sloanetaylor1

    Congratulations, Patti, on being a winner. In every sense of the word.:)

  6. Hugs, Patti! I started going for mammograms in my mid-30s seeing as my maternal grandmother died at 48 and my aunt was diagnosed with breast cancer at 37. It’s a call to duty and I’m grateful for the technology to help women detect disease. Cheers for being a winner, girl – just keep up that positive mental attitude!

  7. I couldn’t agree more, Patti. Gratitude is the shortest route to happiness. Happy to hear your C-free!

  8. Great subject, Patti. It’s so easy to forget we’ve passed a bullet and then something else comes along to take its place. If we don’t have our health, we don’t have anything.

  9. Patti, I’m so glad you passed the exam. What a relief for you and your family. This is a terrific reminder for everyone out there to get screened yearly.

  10. Thanks for the reminder, Patti! We should be grateful everyday. My friend’s sister was just diagnosed with stage 4 ovarian cancer. Her prognosis is not good, unfortunately. I’ve spent the day praying for her family and feeling very grateful for my own health and that of my loved ones.

    So glad your mammogram was clean! Mine is on Wednesday. 🙂

    • Tracy, so glad you’re scheduled for your mammo. I can’t imagine not having one since that’s how my cancer was caught. And there’s a woman at our barn around the same age as your friend’s sister who has stage 4 ovarian cancer as well. She went through extensive chemo for months and now has chemo once a month and will have that for another year. We’ll see what happens. My mother had ovarian cancer too.

  11. Patti, this post is a great reminder to appreciate those “no news” exams. I take it in stride when I go, often forgetting how life can change in an instant. Great post!
    sharon

  12. That’s wonderful about your cancer, or rather cancer scare.
    Every now and then, I make a gratitude list. I write down every thing I have cause to be grateful for. Number one, of course, is good health despite my age, for being curious and energetic. And for being blessed to live in Southwest Florida where I never have to be cold again. The hot sunny days makes my heart smile and my soul dance.

  13. Janna Qualman

    Patti, I’m grateful for this news of yours. Thank you for sharing!

    I try to keep a mind of gratitude, also. Among the stresses and obstacles it’s important to keep perspective, remember all I’m thankful for any given minute, large or small.

