Red Georgia Clay (Sung to the tune of Toby Keith’s Red Solo Cup)

Red Georgia claypants 1

You tick me offpants 2

Let’s have a standoff

Over the laundry…Pants, close up

Ah, yes. Red Georgia clay: the bane of my existence during baseball season. Take a look at these pictures, folks. This is just one week’s worth of baseball pants. How is a woman with other children, other responsibilities, other laundry, supposed to keep up?

productsAll the moms in the stands compare notes. Have you tried this? Have you tried that? Well, here’s another picture proving I’ve tried just about everything. In truth, the season is over, however I still have three pairs of pants soaking in Iron Out in my laundry room sink.

Iron Out, in case you’ve never experienced the joy of this powder, makes your house smell like a sewer. I kid you not. The ladies on the bleachers swear by this stuff, but either I’m not using it right or my son gets dirtier than their kids, because it still doesn’t get all the stains out and that’s after days of soaking! Days!Fels-Naptha

My all time favorite product, guaranteed to rid white clothes of stains is the inanely named Fels-Naptha. Huh? What marketing genius came up with that catchy title? Although Fels-Naptha does work, while scrubbing stains with this soap bar, I feel a kinship with my ancestors of generations past who scrubbed clothes over washboards. My biceps have never looked better. I can hear the announcer at the fictitious World’s Fittest Mom competition: And now, fresh from the laundry circuit, here’s contestant number three, stay-at-home mom, Christy Hayes…

Does anyone have any suggestions for those of us lucky enough to live in the South who face the joys of red Georgia clay on a daily basis? Please help. Inquiring minds want to know.

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on June 24, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Ugh! And I thought I had it bad trying to get boot black off the the white fluffy show pads! I always have something soaking in oxi-clean, but I have know special magic for red clay 😦

    • Christy Hayes

      I should give up writing and invent the magical red clay remover. If only I’d done better in science…

  2. Christy, I could not resist this, even though once again. I will date myself. My mom was a Brooklyn piorneer, full-time factory worker, with two boys and me … the tom boy. And she used a scrub board until I was in second grade when she got a Maytag ringer. (Bless them and believe every commercial.)

    I remember Fels-Naptha, “blueing” and a host of other tricks to rid her of shoot and grass stains, automobile grease when the oldest one was a mechanic. Before the Maytag she combined her scrub board efforts with a “portable ringer.” This horrible devise she had to balance on the edge of the sink.

    Now … don’t you feel better knowing how easy you got it??

    • Christy Hayes

      I do feel better. I feel better every time I scrub those pants and realized I’m lucky not to do this for every piece of laundry. Your mom and all of our ancestors were strong women–figuratively and literally!

  3. Christy, Amway makes a product that is called Redu. It may or may not work but if you haven’t tried it, it’s worth the $$$ if it works and save you the time.

    Why don’t they make baseball uniform pants black?!

    • Christy Hayes

      Black pants in the south are too hot in the summer. I cringe whenever I see a team with black pants 🙂

      Thanks for the recommendation about Redu. I’ll give it a try.

  4. Janna Qualman

    I have no experience with white baseball pants, but I wish you luck!

