Dog vs. House

Life with dogs can be very challenging and very rewarding. As many of you know, we have two rescue mutts, Hershey and Snickers. They have been with us for five years and our lives are much better because we found each other.Hershey

We recently went on vacation without them for ten days. It was a very quiet and lonely ten days, even though our whole family was together. Every night, my husband and I would get into bed and wish our dogs were with us. What can I say…we love our dogs!Snickers

I was walking the dogs the other day and ran into a neighbor who has a new black lab puppy. He was telling me about the chewing their dog had done and I started to think about the way our dogs have made our home theirs in the last five years. The more I thought, the longer the list got.

The most obvious marking is from Hershey where she lays on our dining room chairs tucked beneath our table. It’s her cave dining room tableand she can be found there during most daylight hours. See how she’s marked up the table with her claws? Thankfully, I discovered a fix (3/4 cup canola oil and ¼ cup vinegar) and I can hide the scratch marks as soon I can get her out.

The pom-pom pillow fringe lasted longer than I expected. They only recently started chewing on those—I think mostly when we are out of town.Pillow

They’ve chewed on the dining room hutch.Hutch

The world’s most comfortable couch (see the paw…I believe Snickers is to blame for this one).Couch

The most recent and maddening is the back door screen. We recently (as in within the last week) had the screen replaced where they’d torn it to bits during another one of our out of town trips. During the ripped screenperiod, Snickers figured out to open the door by poking her paws inside the screen and pulling on the wood. When the new screen went up, she decided to take matters into her own paws and clawed another hole.

This, my friends, is the price we pay for having dogs. Dog lovers will understand. Non-dog lovers won’t believe we let our furry friends destroy our homes. To us, a house is not a home without a few dog marks. Let me know about your worst offenders when you get a chance.

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on July 15, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Great blog, Christy! I totally relate, a little sign I have in my kitchen says, “It’s the dog’s house. We just pay the mortgage.” We don’t have the chewing, but we have dog hair for days. Couches that will never be white again (yes, I was that stupid to have three dogs and buy them.) But I wouldn’t trade any of them for anything. Well, maybe the Jack Russell Terrorist when he’s having a bad day.

  2. I must be missing the “dog gene.”

  3. My dog may be gone, but she lives on forever in the house. Mostly in tumbleweeds of dog hair lurking behind the furniture with the pine needles of Christmas trees past. 🙂

    • I’m convinced the dog hair never goes away. Still thinking of you and I’ll keep sending over the puppies that need homes 🙂

  4. You know I totally relate to your situation, Christy, and wouldn’t change it for the world. Our dogs rule the couch, though they have to move over to accommodate my “area”. One sleeps with my husband and me and the other with my son. Our gorgeous new hardwood floors look like crap after several years due to their nails scratching the surface. What can we do? It would be silly to have them redone so they remain “ugly”. I could go on and on. When we leave them alone with water and the back door open, they go through the garbage and shred paper and plastic and other stuff “just because”. Oh well…

    • Our hardwoods are a disaster, too, Patti. But like you said, what can we do? We did put tile in many parts of our house because they wear so much better with animals. Just a thought for when you decide to get rid of the ugly…

  5. We don’t have pets (other than the wild ducks in the pond), but I total understand. Dogs — or for that matter, any pet — becomes part of the family. The occasional time we’ve had dogs around, they’re fun and entertaining, and I find myself getting attached so easily. I’m hoping that when my boys eventually settle down that they’ll get dogs and then I can dog sit. 🙂

  6. Janna Qualman

    They are so sweet! I’m a dog fan through-and-through, especially when it comes to strays and rescues.

    I’m sorry about the wear and tear on your house, but I’m so happy you have those rascals and all they give your family!

