Work and Romance and Church, Oh My!

I have a confession to make. We went to church for the first time in months yesterday. I know, I know, we have no excuse other than summer vacations and a busy schedule. I’m glad to be back and know my life will feel more centered once I regain my focus on what’s important.

Not my church, but pretty!

Not my church, but pretty!

We attend a large church, what some would call a mega-church. It is easy to get lost in the shuffle of people and most days that’s fine by me. Whenever I’m in church, especially after a long absence, I find my mind wanders to my work—romance.

This is not a statement about our preacher. He’s a wonderful speaker and keeps everyone’s attention (if he wasn’t, it wouldn’t be such a large church). I suppose I’m like most people who drag their work along with them wherever they go. The man next to me might be thinking about a big meeting he has this week and the woman in front of me could be worrying about her kids.

I’m plotting my stories as ideas pop left and right out of nowhere. And it begs the question, why? The best I can figure is that there are couples all around us, all of them freshly showered, looking good, smelling good, and feeling friendly toward each other. As I look around the crowd, I can’t help but wonder what brought certain couples together for their first date, for their fourth date, and all the way down the aisle (if they have gotten that far).

Romance is everywhere and Sunday mornings (or Sunday afternoons as was our case yesterday) are no exception. I love what I do and I suppose that insatiable curiosity is what keeps my head spinning with stories and brings me back to the keyboard every day.

And just so you know, I still managed to hear the word. 🙂 So what about you? Does your work sneak in and tap you on the shoulder at the strangest times and places?

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/nicholas_t/6585866275/”>Nicholas_T</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on August 5, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Half my books begin with Siri! I may be in line at the grocery store and see something on a magazine cover that sparks a thought. Or at the barn, whiling away the hours while my daughter trains and something pops into my head. My iPhone keeps many of those plots and dialog runs for me until I get a chance to use them. I think as writers, we always have voice in our heads. 😉

    • I never think to use Siri! I’m relieved to hear I’m not the only one who hears those voices…

  2. I am not an accomplished writer like all you lovely women, but my ‘best’ blog posts have come to mind when I’m in the shower, and to make it even better, they’ve come to mind in the form of poems…jajajajaaaa of course, I can never hold the thought till I am ready and in front of my computer, so most of them have gone down the drain 😦 great post, read you soon, Alexandra

    • The shower is a wonderful spot for inspiration, and yes, very inconvenient for remembering those bolts of lightning!

  3. I think it’s those moments when we let down our guard and really relax. Then the ideas flow unfettered. For me, it’s when we’re on the road, with my husband driving and tunes in the background. 🙂

    • Yes, Sheila! That is anther time the ideas come. I think you’re right about us relaxing.

  4. Christy, I think you’re on to something. Sitting in church makes me more aware of other people’s stories–or at least that other people have stories. A worship service forces you outside of yourself in a way that nothing else does, even if thoughts about work intrude.

  5. I used to be this way, but the creative juices don’t flow as often and the way they used to.

    I’m like you, I like being “lost in the shuffle.” Anonymity is important to me that way.

