Wise Words, Good Life

coffee Trollope“Never think that you’re not good enough. A man should never think that. People will take you very much at your own reckoning.”

“Passionate love, I take it, rarely lasts long, and is very troublesome while it does last. Mutual esteem is very much more valuable.”

“For the ordinary purposes of conversation a superficial knowledge of many things goes further than an intimacy with one or two.”

Mr. Trollope, the prolific 19th century novelist quoted above and in the photo, was pretty darn insightful. Wouldn’t you agree?

So, thinking about this: “What on earth could be more luxurious than a sofa, a book, and a cup of coffee?” I agree, sometimes you can’t beat a cozy perch paired with an engaging story capped by a favorite brew—whether steamy-hot or, my preference, iced.

But there is more in life that’s just as luxurious, right? There are other bits that give us pleasure, which are self-indulgent, and make a life good.

For me there’s the following (incomplete) list: eating out, sleeping in a cold room under a warm quilt, naps when there’s no place to be, long walks of solitude, getting a pedicure while in a massage chair, weekend getaways, heartfelt hugs with my daughters, buying something I really want at a bargain price, belly laughing, learning something new about myself and realizing that’s why I’m this way, dessert, a movie that makes me feel and cry, and so much more. These are some of the things that make mine a good life. And when put all together, they make Anthony Trollope’s assertion seem almost lacking.

What do you think? What are the little (or big) bits of life you enjoy most?

About Janna

writer, editor, marketing assistant, resume consultant, mom, wannabe philosopher, advocate, and possibilitarian / you can call me Janna

Posted on August 14, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Love your list, Janna. On mine, I’d have: hanging out at the barn; walking on the beach; seeing old friends; fixing dinner with my husband; laughing with my kids (usually about something stupid I’ve done!); and typing THE END. 🙂

  2. Man, Janna, I have to take a few things from your list and Tracy’s list. I love hanging out at the barn with my horse as well as taking a nap on my deck when I have no other commitments to take care of. Plus watching a good movie that makes me cry is at the top of my list. Another would be, as you said, belly laughing over something with my sister that is so stupid, no one else would “get it”.

  3. Great list, Janna. I get the most joy watching the ducks and bunnies wander through the yard, with the occasional surprise of a moose and heron. Otherwise, it’s sitting in total silence with a good book in my hands or the pleasure of spending time with my whole family. 🙂

  4. Thanks, ladies! You’ve included some great things, too.

  5. It’s hard to add to such fabulous lists, but I’ll throw in walking my dogs, hanging with good friends, snuggling with the hubs, and listening to my kids laugh. Thanks for reminding us to take stock of what’s important.

  6. A fire in the fireplace when fall’s chill sets in, sipping hot cocoa, with a cat cuddled in my lap. A balcony overlooking the Caribbean and a long stretch of white sand, palm trees swaying. Scuba diving when I’m in “the zone,” surrounded by corals and sponges and tropical fish, completely in the moment and hyper-aware, feeling peaceful and alive at the same time.

    • Love your fall addition, Andrea, and “being in the zone” no matter what the environment or platform is also excellent!

