Home Sweet Home

Or is it? I mean, is it sweet when the door rots? The pool leaks? The ac unit screams because your vaulted ceilings are killing it? How about when the ants band together on rainy days and head indoors for a spell? The roof shingles split because there’s no shade and the Florida sun is brutal?

you can almost here them...

I think I’m ready for a condo. Some place on the water would be nice, second floor, so I don’t have to worry about floods. Keep it roomy but not too roomy–less space means less cleaning. Pest control, lawn maintenance, building repairs are all taken care of by someone with patience and a smile. (Love them.) The dues can be hazardous but shoot, by the time you consider your maintenance and repair expenses, the headaches and stress, I think condo living might come out ahead!

I could write and relax. I’d pull into my driveway without my husband noticing all the things that need to be done. It would be like living on constant vacation! The family could relax on the weekends with no grass to cut, chlorine to adjust, weeds to pull…

Oh, right. The weeds. I wouldn’t have my garden. There’d be no space. I could join a community garden but then I’d have to drive. (Ugh, the traffic.) With no compost pile to support, my sense of “green living” would dull. I’d feel guilty wasting all those kitchen scraps. Think of the naturally-fertilized dirt I’d lose!

lettuce for lunch

Hmph. (Can you tell I’ve had a rough weekend?)

Glancing around, I fight the urge to run. Perhaps I should reconsider. Responsibility isn’t all bad. Annoying, but at least I have room to roam when I feel like running. Space to spread out, plant some veggies, a welcome mat for the dog…

Maybe obligations aren’t so bad. I’m whining, I know. I mean, I do so enjoy strolling to the garden for a pluck of fresh leaves for lunch. Sitting on the back patio, taking in the kids and their friends swimming and laughing. My husband does look good on a tractor. 😉

Take a deep breath, Dianne. Everything’s okay. How about you? What do you do when your weekend is lost to chores?

Posted on September 9, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I remind myself I will miss these chores when the kids are out of the house. These will be the good old days even when the ac is on the blink and the roof leaks. Glad Monday’s here and you made it through…

  2. I feel your pain, Dianne! We’re dealing with a cracked driveway and rotting windows. I keep telling myself that in three more years, my husband and I will have our weekends back. Of course, by then, we won’t need this big house. 😉

  3. Living in a cave subsisting on nuts, berries and wild game does have its appeal some days.

    No shoes, no shirt, no problem.

  4. I wouldn’t move if I were you either. Your home and surroundings sound wonderful. But I DO understand what you’re saying. My husband is constantly working on stuff around our 1910 home. There’s always a project to complete. But we wouldn’t change things since we live in a beautiful city, close to San Francisco and there are a ton of pluses.
    Patti

  5. Dianne, I know exactly how you feel. We’ve been struggling with the same issues and we’ve had such a rainy summer that my husband is mowing the lawn twice a week. In fact, we’re kind of looking forward to the winter … except winter means cold and icy roads and we can’t be outside. And condo living means no more peace and quiet on the acreage. Alas, we’re stuck with the chores and the maintenance for another 20 years or more. 🙂

  6. Maybe when the kids move out. But then again, that’s when I’ll love the peace and quiet of my “country” living even more!!! Ha. Who am I kidding? I’ll be following them to college.

  7. Dianne, I struggle with this, too. I wish my husband and I had more free time, but I grew up on a farm — if we moved to a condo, I’d miss my 7 acres!

  8. There are definite pros and cons, aren’t there?

    Fortunately my kids aren’t old enough yet that we’re swamped with extra-curriculars every weekday, and I currently rent, so when weekends are busy and there’s not much down-time, we can catch up evenings after work and homework are finished. I should count my lucky stars, it won’t always be this way!

