Where Has The Time Gone?

My kids are growing up too fast. Our weekends used to be spent rushing from one sporting event to another. We still do that, but not nearly as often. Case in point, my son’s football games are on Thursday and Friday nights now, so Saturday is free. My daughter isn’t doing a sport this fall and therefore our Saturday and Sundays are wide open.

And I HATE it!IMG_0256

I know. I’m as shocked as anyone would be. My husband thinks I’m crazy, but I can’t stand passing ballparks and football fields where scores of little kids and their frazzled parents convene knowing we don’t have to be there.

“But we can go to Athens and see the Dawgs play,” my husband says. Well, yes, we can and we do. But it’s not the same.

“We can go to the lake, get stuff done around the house, do whatever we want,” he continues. But I’m still not convinced.

When my oldest was three, I scoured our area for organized sports that he could participate in and found one not too far from our house. I bought us all Yankee t-shirts (even though I can’t stand the Yankees) because that was the team he was on. That long ago season seems like just yesterday and I can’t believe we are phasing out of that part of our lives already.

Yes, there will be baseball and lacrosse in the spring and we’ll be back out there again (thank goodness), but for now, on these beautiful fall weekends, I’m feeling melancholy.

Am I crazy??

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on September 16, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Yes! There are so many other things you can enjoy doing as a family besides sporting events. I’m jealous!

  2. Is you is or is you ain’t crazy? Not for me to say. But I’m going to go with probably not.

    • I think I have a hard time just enjoying the moment I’m in and not looking forward or back and wishing for what isn’t. Yeah, I think I is crazy!

  3. Christy, I am with you. Just having Alex drive himself to his practices and early for the games is making me feel melancholy as well. We are still at the ballpark every weekend for both boys but the countdown is on. Not sure I’m ready for the next stage.

    • Thanks, Lisa, for making me feel not so crazy! It’s gone by too fast! What’s next…college? Holy crap–yes! My angst continues…

  4. You most definitely are NOT crazy. I miss watching my teenage son playing basketball so much I could literally have withdrawals. I used to love going to his games every week for months and yelling and screaming and taking pictures and videos. Now he plays pick-up games with his friends at 24-hour fitness and I cannot watch them. Bummer. My daughter just started tennis and so my husband and I will be watching those games instead. The time is coming, slowly but surely, when there will be no games to watch that include my kids and I am dreading it. Sorry, but that’s how I feel.

    • I feel your pain, Patti. I’m not done yet, but I can see the end and it makes me sad. At least I have company 🙂

  5. Definitely not! I think it’s a transitional phase, and one you’re feeling emotional over. Any good, involved mama would.

  6. Not crazy at all. With every new beginning comes an ending, and endings are always hard. It’s an adjustment, but in time you’ll come to love the new phase of your life, too.

  7. Not so crazy, Christy. When my kids grew out of that stage, I missed it too, and I very nearly volunteered to help out with the younger groups just so I could still be a part of it all. But then my boys joined guitar and karate and pottery lessons … and my free time filled in again. 🙂

    • I had a fleeting thought of adopting some kids so I could never grow out of this stage, but then I realized I’d grow out of it with them, too. Or I’d adopt a child who didn’t want to play sports… I think I am crazy!

