Christmas Is Here – WHAT?

images-375

I am not a Scrooge. Not even close. Never.

I love the holidays. I enjoy driving around, looking at all the decorated houses. I do most of my shopping on the internet and a bit inside the stores. This saves me from getting  too overwhelmed with the crowds as well as decrease the need for buying unnecessary items and impulse purchases.

images-376

But when I enter Costco and Kohl’s in August and see Christmas trees and shiny ornaments, I absolutely cringe. Who feels in the Holiday Spirit when it’s 80 degrees outside and you’re wearing shorts?

It actually makes me sad because it SCREAMS, “Hand over your money!”  Big time. It irks me to no end that the American people are bombarded with publicity both in the stores and on the television, forcing us into thinking we have to get our shopping done the summer before December 25th in order to “do it right”.

AACK!

Posted on October 11, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I totally agree with you. I love the Christmas Season but want to celebrate it during the season not starting before Halloween..

  2. I’m with you, Patti! I’m already feeling stressed enough with work. My mother-in-law is already calling to ask for a Christmas list for my kids. We haven’t even gotten through birthdays yet!

  3. LOL! I look away … unless something sparkly catches my attention and I can’t resist. 🙂

  4. Hobby Lobby had it out in July! I love Hobby Lobby, but I had to stop and think about what month it was. Time goes by fast enough as it is…

  5. The commercialization of Christmas has ruined the holiday for me. I barely even celebrate it anymore. The sight of Christmas decorations and the sound of Christmas music just make me angry, because the stores have turned the holiday into the opposite of what it’s supposed to be.

  6. I hear comments like this a lot, and you’re so right! As if holiday shopping isn’t already stressful enough.

