The Day My Best Friend Betrayed Me…

Like most betrayals, it happened in the wee hours of the morning. The pain is still fresh in my mind. The anguish, the heartbreak and fear, too.

I’ll never forget it because exactly two days earlier, I’d uploaded Terms of Surrender to all of the online retailers and I had everything ready for the release date. I was excited to finally start book 3 in the Rocky Mountain Romance series. Sara’s story was just dying to be written.

On top of it all, I was ready for a break. A few days off to announce Terms of Surrender to the world, spend some time with my family, restock the fridge, push a vacuum around, and maybe read a book.

Unable to sleep, I was in my home office, playing with a new software design app while I thought about changing my website design (which is what I do when I’m between books).

image copyright unknown

image copyright unknown

And then my six month old MacBook Air, which I happen to love ALMOST as much as I love my dear Hubs and family, sent me an error message. Then another and another and another and another and another…until there was nothing but a black screen on my notebook and a sick feeling in my gut.

Betrayed by my best friend, my computer.

It wasn’t the first time, of course. I’d been ditched by computers before, but this time seemed so much worse. Six months earlier, I’d made the switch from PC to Mac, and like any new relationship, I gave my new best friend my heart and soul and trust. And in doing so, I ignored the fact that I should protect our relationship by performing the occasional backup.

Instead, I trusted my friend to be there through thick and thin…and in the process lost every last bit of work I’d done since last May.

For the past month, instead of writing book 3, I’ve spent my time rebuilding all of the files I lost. I’ve also invested in an automatic backup system (since apparently I’m incapable of performing the simple task of the occasional backup which might have saved the relationship).

My trust is gone, at least for the moment. In the months to come, if my friend performs without further errors, I’ll grow comfortable and forget that backups are a necessary part of our relationship. But as long as the automatic backup system does his job, the next betrayal shouldn’t hurt quite so bad.

Are you the trusting type? Or are you emotionally and physically prepared for your computer’s inevitable betrayal?

 

Have a happy and safe Halloween!

About Sheila Seabrook

Author of Single Title Romantic Comedy and Women's Fiction

Posted on October 30, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Ouch, Shelia! I hope the relationship can be repaired over time. 🙂 What back-up system did you get?

  2. Oh, Sheila! I feel your pain. We are not so trusting around here and use Carbonite to back up our systems. I can’t imagine losing all that work… Bless you and congrats on your new release!

  3. Technology’s only real goal is to break your heart and ruin your life. Don’t let it!

    • You’re dead on when you say “break your heart”, Dale, cause that’s exactly how it feels. When my brother heard the news, he phoned and asked my husband what the depression level was. It was pretty low. 🙂

  4. I’m crossing every finger and every toe that this does not happen to me!!! I do back my stuff up on portable disks, but only my WIPS. I may need to come up with a better system.

    • Yes, make sure you back up, Tracy. If it had happened two days earlier, I would have lost an entire finished book. I was lucky in the fact that I’d uploaded Terms and was able to download the file back to my computer. It still took me several days to put it back into scrivener format so that I could make future changes, but if I hadn’t have been able to download it, I could never have recreated it. 🙂

  5. I was intrigued by the title of your post and am glad it wasn’t a person who betrayed you. I’ve had my MacBook since 2009 with the same battery – that should have died several years back, they told me. The other day it just went “ping” and shut off at 72% charged so I knew it was “on its way out”. So I went and got a new battery (instead of a new computer) and it’s fine so far. But now I use my external back-up gizmo more often and my two flash drives because I only lost one page when it shut off with the “ping” thing. I know how frustrated you must have felt and I didn’t lose as much as you did. Those back-up devices are really worth having.
    Patti

    • Yes, I thought the title might attract some curiosity. LOL, Patti! I love my MacBook Air. I think my son’s oldest Mac is from 2005 and it still works great. Thank goodness we’re able to replace the battery b/c it would be awful if we couldn’t. 🙂

  6. I back up to an external drive every day, and occasionally email myself the entire WIP. One thing to keep in mind about an external hard drive – if you get a virus on your computer, it’s likely to infect your external drive as well. So you should back up to the cloud occasionally, too.

  1. Pingback: website design community

