A New Halloween

images-377

As I’m writing this post it’s 2:30 in the afternoon on Halloween, and I’m truly depressed. Tonight will be the first time in 19 years that my husband and I won’t be trick-or-treating with one of our kids. I could cry. Or, better yet, I’ll cry later so I don’t get the keyboard wet!

Our son is 19 years old and I recall he was 9 months old on his first Halloween. Money was tight and I sewed his first outfit. He was a ghost. I took an old sheet and ironed on various goblins and ghosts and pumpkins, cut a hole in the top for his head, and voila’ – his first costume.  Four years later his sister came along and I think by then we’d graduated to buying their costumes at Party Warehouse.

When my son turned 15 he started walking around with his “bros” on Halloween but we still had our daughter. We’d walk around with another couple whose daughter was our daughter’s best friend. We always had a good time talking and laughing. By the time we got home it was always too late to hand out candy.

This year we’ll have plenty of time to hand out treats but I’m not in the mood to see other little kids in their costumes at my door. My daughter will be going to a party with her friends around the corner and my husband and I will be home alone.

I’m going to walk around (with or without the hubby) so I can see all the kids and the crazily decorated houses. If I don’t leave the house I know I’ll succumb to tears.

Posted on November 1, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Each new stage is bittersweet. I’m enjoying having a mature relationship with my kids even as I mourn their quickly evaporating childhood. Man alive, all the kids at my door last night were cute! Good times!

    • My daughter said she had a really fun Halloween last night and I was happy for her. She didn’t feel a bit sad about not going around the neighborhood, so that made me feel better. My husband stayed home and gave out candy and I walked around for about an hour and looked at all the houses. It was good overall and not as sad as I thought it would be.

  2. My husband and I had fun handing out candy and looking at all the little ones. They were so cute! We decided that next year, we’d dress up in something fun, until my daughter pointed out it will be a Friday night and we’ll likely be at a high school football game!

  3. Ah, Patti … the growing pains of being a parent are not easy. Each time they move to another level and get a bit farther from the nest, we cringe. Be happy that you are raising good, independent kids and look forward to the stuff that comes with adult children. It’s truly worth the wait 🙂

  4. I think the changes are a lot easier on the kids than on the parents. Kids are in such a hurry to grow up. And I don’t blame them, really. I loved the independence of turning eighteen. For kids, childhood seems to last forever, and for parents, it flies by. It’s one of the bittersweet ironies of life.

  5. This is why we someday get grandchildren, Patti. Enjoy your current freedom because in the not too distant future, you’ll be having sleepovers and babysitting and you’re get to re-experience Halloween once again. 🙂

  6. My parents and sister when through the same thing this year. No kids, no costumes. No fun. 😦

    Another reminder to count oursevles fortunate while in the moment!

