Talking Volumes.

book clubAn author’s life is pretty solitary.  Much of my day is spent conversing with the voices in my head rather than actual people. Most of the time, the introvert in me doesn’t mind the one-on-one time with my fantasy world, but sometimes I need to get out of my cave—if not for my questionable mental sanity, then at least to find out what the Kardashians are up to.

Now, I don’t do well in large groups—I believe I already mentioned the introvert part.  There’s also the sticky widget involving my low vision.  If I meet you at a party, church or a school concert, chances are I won’t recognize you when I meet you again at the supermarket.  Even if I’ve met you more than once.  If you’re appearing out of context, forget about it.  My messed up mind just won’t make the connection.  It’s just easier for me to avoid meeting new people rather than to have them think I’m a snob.  It’s a philosophy that works well for me despite the protests from the rest of my family.

One day, a couple of years ago, I found a note in my mailbox.  Attached to it was a library card.  The note was an invitation to a book club my lovely friend Allison (aka Allifun) was kicking off.  Obviously, the book club would consist of other women.  Many of whom I didn’t know because I don’t play tennis in the neighborhood.  (Low vision, remember?)  I was skeptical and very reluctant.  What if these women were all funnier and smarter, had nicer houses or killer shoes, the introverted part of my brain screamed. Worse, what if I blindly knocked something over or tripped over my own feet?

But, there were BOOKS involved.  I love books.  Also, the possibility existed that wine would be served at these so called meetings.  And if I was really lucky, the occasional morsel of chocolate, too.  Surely I could get over my phobias for books, wine and chocolate, right?  You betcha!

TVlogoI’m so glad to be a part of Talking Volumes—yes we even have a name. Not only have I made some fabulous friends—even if they do have nicer homes and better shoes—but I’ve read some remarkable books.  Books I might have never bothered with if they weren’t that month’s selection.  Thanks to Megan, I’m hooked on Will Trent, a character created by Karin Slaughter.  Thanks to Maureen, I’m hooked on Pinot Grigio, but that’s a horse of a different color.  Donna introduced us to Louis Zamperini and his amazing true story in Unbroken and Kathy selected one of my favorites:  The Language of Flowers.  Jeanne cooked an Asian buffet the night we discussed Girl in Translation and Dana created a meal of bugs (made of gummy worms) and “Scalped” potatoes when we read Follow the River.  Chris always hosts when her mom is in town so that Nana Marilyn can join in the fun. 

The girls with their autographed copies of GAME ON.

The girls with their autographed copies of GAME ON.

Here’s the crazy thing, we actually read and discuss the books when we get together. I know, who does that, right?  Not every book chosen has been one I’d read on my own, but they’ve all left me with something to think about.  I plan my writing schedule around book club.  In the past two years, I’ve had to skip reading only one book because of a deadline, but it’s first on my TBR pile.  Best of all, I’ve found a group of friends who share a common love:  the joy of the written word.  Thanks ladies for letting me be a part of your club.  And welcome, Kim!

Check out the Talking Volumes booklist

What about you? Are you in a book club?  Do you have any book suggestions for Talking Volumes? 

 

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on November 15, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I love book clubs. I’ve been in several and they always peter out because no one reads the books! I don’t understand why this always happens, but I’d love to find another group because I do read the books and I do want to talk about them! So happy that your group not only survived but thrives!

  2. I’m not a joiner. That said, my best local gal pals are from the gym.

    Trying new things is good. Stretching our comfort zone benefits us. That’s why I signed up for belly dancing classes. Not because I was comfortable or it was easy. But I experienced what is was like to be the newbie and it gave me a greater appreciation for what new Zumba students were up against.

  3. I started two book clubs in my life and joined another one. They were all fun and I enjoyed the people. The problem for me was that the books everyone wanted to read were not my type of genre and I never read them. I loved getting together but I figured if I was in a book club then I should be reading the books. They all peetered out but it was because kids came along for me and I didn’t have the time. I enjoyed the togetherness part though.

  4. I’ve never had time for a book club, but I’ve been giving a lot of thought to either finding a local one or starting one. Any suggestions on what makes a good book club, Tracy?

  5. Talking Volumes has to be THE best book club name ever. 🙂

    I’d be hesitant like you (the whole introvert thing), but when it comes down to it, I think a book club would be great. I’ll have to try and seek one out sometime.

