Love/Hate Relationships

I’ve always had a love/hate relationship with Facebook. I’m a pretty private person. I’m not apt to share the minutia of my life with others. I bore myself half the time and figure I shouldn’t spend time boring others. I’ve even written entire blog posts on my hatred for Facebook.

But… Screen Shot 2012-11-15 at 1.59.16 PM

There are times when I discover things on FB that I never would have known. For instance, there is a page dedicated to the recovery of a young woman who suffered a traumatic brain injury after a car accident. I’m not sure how this page ended up on my feed, but a friend must have liked it and now I read the posts and updates whenever I see them.

I don’t know the girl. I don’t know her family. The posts are remarkable and uplifting and so full of hope. The mom and dad take turns writing posts that convey their courage and faith as the family takes baby step after baby step toward recovery.

There are thousands of pages like theirs on Facebook. Thousands. I’m not sure what it was about this one that caught my eye and made me read. And keep on reading. And praying for them. I believe in the power of prayer.

I found this girl’s story through a social media site I sometimes love and sometimes hate. Love or hate it, social media has power. Sometimes that power is a wonderful thing.

What about you? Have you found something through social media that has impacted your life? If so, would you please share?

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on November 18, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I’ve been following the Tripp Halstad story on FB. I do get some crazy suggestions for stories to follow but I rarely click on them. I barely have time to read anything these days!

  2. Christy, there was a forest fire up here a couple of years ago. We’d had an awful drought and had tropical storm force winds from a system in the gulf.

    Facebook was a great tool for the community. People were worried about their relatives and other people would post if they’d seen them or if they weren’t in danger.

    Others had livestock that needed to be moved to safety and people volunteered to go help in the middle of the night.

    The next day there was a page for what donations were needed (sizes) and where to take them for the families who lost everything.

    In my opinion, it was Facebook at its finest hour.

    • Exactly, Laura. When it’s good, it’s great. When it’s bad… we waste hours of our life we can never get back!

  3. Hi Christy! Could you give me the name of the FB connection person you read about who is suffering from a TBI. I’d be interested in reading it. Unfortunately when I started on this social media bandwagon I was told to have a “lot” of followers to look good to agents. Well, I “accepted” every FB request and added more and more. What happened is that I receive FB notifications for people all day long like a news feed and I would have to sit for hours in order to read all of them. Short of starting all over, I don’t know how I’d change that!

    • It’s called Loved Girl and it is inspiring! My feed is full of stuff I don’t want and I feel like I miss most of my close friends’ posts. I think FB changes a lot…

  4. Christy, I have the same love/hate relationship with FB, but the personal connection is what it’s all about. Sometimes, though, it’s just blah-blah-blah (I think my life is boring, too, so I feel I don’t have a lot worth sharing). Coming across something like you’ve written about above makes the rest of the experience totally worth it. 🙂

    • I do check in most days, so I haven’t banned it yet. And yes, those personal heart wrenching stories make it worthwhile.

  5. Patty, you can tell Facebook what updates (if any) you want from the people you friend so your stream isn’t filled with a bunch of stuff you don’t care about from people you don’t know. Go to their profile, click the down arrow in the Friends button, and select Settings. If you don’t want to see anything from them, click the down arrow and uncheck Show in News Feed.

  6. I know what you mean. Sometimes I feel like I waste hours of my life on social media, just waiting for someone to interact with me. But on the other hand, I draw inspiration, happiness, connection, and love from so much that I see. It definitely has its strengths.

  1. Pingback: MC: Relationships After 25: Facebook Post From An Ex | LuluChris58 BloG

