Winter Wonderland

Last week, our snow melted. I know, weird, huh?

For anyone familiar with winter on the Canadian prairies, you know that once the snow arrives, the cold white flakes stick around till the following spring…which if we’re lucky occurs in late March. And if we’re not so fortunate, it might stick around till late May or early June.

Anyway, back to last week…

The first snowfall of 2013

For two days, the snow melted and it felt like spring. And let me tell you, there is nothing—absolutely nothing—better than being able to walk outside without a toque, mitts, heavy winter coat, and boots.

I spent those two days with a snow shovel in my hands, chipping the ice off the driveway, and enjoying the warmth of the sun on my head. And then the clouds moved back in and it began to snow again.

Now we have another foot or more of the white stuff.

Sure, it’s pretty, especially with the glow of Christmas lights shining through a dusting of newly fallen snow. Or on a frosty, sunny morning when we wake to trees covered in hoar frost and the entire landscape glitters.

But today, as I’m digging out from the latest snowfall, the temperature is dropping, the wind is blowing, and my back is sore. And it somehow feels more like a life sentence than it does a beautiful wonder of nature.

In my next life, I’m putting in a request for Hawaiian parents. 🙂

Before I go, I’d like to wish everyone an early happy Thanksgiving. I’ll be on a little vacation, someplace where there is no snow or snow shovels or toques or mitts. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your families!

Do you get snow in your part of the world? What’s your favorite thing about the winter season? And for those of you who have never experienced the beauty of a winter wonderland, if you were to wake up to a fresh snowfall, what’s the first thing you would do?

About Sheila Seabrook

Author of Single Title Romantic Comedy and Women's Fiction

Posted on November 20, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. Sheila, I used to love those days when the snow piled up and school was cancelled and we had some fun family together time. It was the second and third and fourth days that got to me! Snow is nice at Christmas, but so is sun! Enjoy your vacation. 🙂

  2. What beautiful pictures, Sheila! We don’t get much snow here (usually one dusting per year or every other) and I like it that way. When I was a kid in Virginia, we used to get a ton and we’d have snowball fights and build forts… I miss those days but I’m pretty sure I wouldn’t love them as an adult.

    Have a wonderful and warm vacation!

  3. Beautiful picture, Sheila, but I am definitely not a snow-lover. I would take Hawaii over snow any day. Living on the coast of California where the weather is very temperate is my cup of tea and always has been. I hated the two years I lived in Oregon because all it did was rain, rain, rain.

    • I would not enjoy constant rain either, Patti. We tend to have lots of sunshine here during the winter. However, along with the sunshine comes very cold temperatures. 🙂

  4. Nope, Sheila … I have moved south and no longer battle snow, alternate side of the street parking, digging out from under the white stuff and never, never wear gloves … hardly ever wear sock and dread the idea of heavy woolens 🙂 But I love the way the white stuff looks and often wish I could “visit” it … speaking of which … have fun when you visit the sun 🙂

    • Gosh, Florence, I’ve forgotten what it’s like to dig the car out from under the snow. Now that I work from home, I usually stay in on snow days, and my vehicle stays in the nice dry garage. 🙂 Thank you for the vacation wishes. I’m looking forward to the heat.

  5. I get the occasional snow fall in the Sierra Nevada foothills. Sometimes it sticks around for a week or two, but usually it melts away after a few days. I don’t mind if it’s cold and there is snow, but I don’t like when it’s just miserable cold and dry.

    I’ll bet it’s pretty up in the Great White North, especially around Christmas time. We rarely have a white Christmas here. Usually we get our snow in early spring after the daffodils have bloomed. That sucks. Wish it would snow in the winter like it’s supposed to.

    Enjoy your warm spot, where ever that may be. And happy Thanksgiving to you as well.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • I’ll bet it’s gorgeous in your foothills, Patricia. It’s interesting that you normally don’t get your snow until spring. Yes, I think I could definitely go for a week or two of snow every year. 🙂

  6. There really isn’t anything I like about winter except the beauty of the first snowfall and that Spring comes after winter. I lived in Las Vegas for a year and didn’t miss snow at all. I’d love to move to a warmer climate but all of my family is in NY state – warm weather doesn’t compare to the warmth of my grandkids. 🙂

    Have a great vacation!

  7. You’re right on both accounts, Marcia. The best part about winter is that spring follows. And like you, I couldn’t live far from my grandchildren either…not that I have any yet, but hopefully someday. 🙂

  8. My favorite snowy thing is watching my generous-hearted husband plowing and shoveling out our neighbors. I clear our porches and steps, then stay inside making cookies as an acknowledgement of hubby’s kindness—and he adores sweets.

  9. No snow in the Midwest (U.S.) yet, but it’s been in the 20s for almost a week now. The white stuff likely isn’t far behind.

    Enjoy your holiday, Sheila! Happy Thanksgiving!

  1. Pingback: Winter Wonderland

  2. Pingback: winter wonderland | 20 Lines A Day

