IF YOU’RE READING THIS…

images-378

I’m betting the majority of people following this blog are avid readers. My sister Kathy and I share suggestions about new authors we’ve discovered. She told me about Joy Fielding several months ago. I’d heard the name before and even read one of her books years and years ago. So, I bought one of her books for my Kindle and I was instantly hooked. I read every e-book she had and then started on the ones that weren’t available in e-book form. I adore her writing. It’s very different from the other authors I’d been reading. Her books give me a great sense of the main character and the internal drama that woman is going through. I can’t say enough good things about Joy Fielding.

images-379

What are you reading right now and do you have a favorite current author?

Please share.

Posted on November 22, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Patti, sadly I don’t have time to read much of anything right now, but I will definitely put Joy Fielding on my TBR list. Thanks for the suggestion!

  2. I’m reading Marisa de Los Santos’ Falling Together. Good so far. Thanks for the suggestion on Joy Fielding.

  3. The best book I’ve read lately is Jennifer Crusie’s Bet Me. It’s exactly the kind of novel I want to write. I doubt that I could ever master comedy the way she has, though, plus I tend to choose topics that don’t have the same comic potential. Maybe someday!

  4. I love Jennifer Crusie’s Bet Me too, Andrea. I’d love to be able to write like she does. 🙂

    Patti, thanks for the book recommendations. Lately, I’ve been reading a bunch of non-fiction books: Linda Style’s Beyond the First Draft: Writing Techniques of the Pros; Jeff Gerke’s Plot versus Character; Jennifer Lee’s The Right-Brain Business Plan.

  5. Thanks for the heads up on Joy Fielding, Patti … I just finished Eleven Minutes by Paulo Cohelo and am rereading The Forgotten by David Baldachi for my book club. Someone recommended The Haunting of Maddy Claire and I think I’ll do that this w/e. Keep the suggestions coming 🙂

  6. I’ll have to try her out!

    I’m currently reading The Shining by Stephen King. I’m not a big horror fan, but the sequel to this was recently released, and it interested me. Needed the backstory first, though.

    My favorite author is Elizabeth Berg, who writes such beautiful and honest women’s fiction.

