On gratitude

I have a lot to be grateful for this holiday season. My family. My friends. My health.

And now, my status as a real, live, about-to-be-published author.

GratefulFor those of you who missed it, a couple of weeks ago my agent and I announced the big news, that two of my books have been picked up by Mira, the women’s fiction imprint at Harlequin. My debut, The Truest Lie, will be released Fall of 2014.

I’m not going to lie. There was a lot of squealing and dancing in my house when the offer came in. Any writer, published or not, will tell you the road to publication is long and paved with rejection letters. It took years of study and failure and creativity and perseverance. It took truckloads of tears and gallons of heartburn medicine. It took a fair amount of wine and Xanax.

But right after the celebration came the doubts. What if no one likes my book? What if no one reads it? Or what if everyone loves the first but hates the second? What if I only have one good book in me?

As a pre-published author, getting that first contract feels like the finish line, but really, it’s only the beginning. The stakes only get higher, the pressure to succeed larger, and the internal editor louder and more critical.

So this Thanksgiving weekend, I’m reminding myself to stop and stay in the now. Yes, I worked hard to get here, and yes, I have still have much to do, but this almost-an-author moment only comes once. I want to experience every second of it.

Tomorrow I will worry about edits and marketing and writing the next, bigger, better book. Today I will be thankful for today.

About Kimberly S. Belle

Kimberly Belle grew up in Eastern Tennessee, in a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachians. A graduate of Agnes Scott College in Decatur, Georgia, Kimberly lived for over a decade in the Netherlands and has worked in marketing and fundraising for various nonprofits. She's the author of two novels, THE LAST BREATH and THE ONES WE TRUST (August 2015). She divides her time between Atlanta and Amsterdam. Keep up with Kimberly on Facebook (www.facebook.com/KimberlyBelleBooks), Twitter (@KimberlySBelle), or via her website at www.kimberlybellebooks.com.

Posted on November 29, 2013, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Congratulations, Kimberle! And thanks for the reminder. My second book comes out on Tuesday and I’ve been consumed with pressure to create a “successful” book launch–whatever that is! I, too, am just thankful for the opportunity and I need to live in the moment more and enjoy the next few days. 🙂

  2. Congratulations, Kimberly, and I don’t blame you at all for squealing and dancing at that great news! I’d have done it all through the holidays just for good measure. 🙂

  3. That is SO cool, Kimberly. I didn’t know this had happened to you and I am so happy for you. I just got my ms back from an editor I paid for personally, so now starts the work of revising, revising, revising. AACK. But it’s fun and I can only live in the “here and now”, as you said. I should enjoy it.

  4. Congrats on your hard earned success. Enjoy the moment and remember the work never stops!

  5. Thanks, ladies, for your kind words! I’m enjoying the moment until edits begin, and then the only thing I’ll be stopping to smell is coffee. Lots and lots of coffee! 🙂

