Happy Birthday, Little One!

Today is my daughter’s fourteenth birthday! Hard to believe that my  baby is now solidly in the teen years. Fourteen years ago we were in the hospital waiting for armageddon, otherwise known as the Y2K meltdown. My husband and I figured the best place to be during Y2K was the hospital–and we were right.cake

There wasn’t a glitch in service. No power failures, no computer malfunctions, just the miracle of life happening again and again and again. Our little bundle of joy came out with low blood sugar–shocking, really, considering my sweet tooth. She was whisked away to the NICU where she spent her entire stay with visits from her mom and dad for feeding. She was tiny compared to her older brother who caught his first sight of her through thick glass holding two lollipops from his beloved Aunt Galisa.

So much has changed in the last fourteen years. I won’t bore you with our personal journey, but I will offer this as an excuse for the short post. I’m off to spend the day with my beautiful daughter. Every birthday is a gift. Every moment precious. I plan to soak them all in through her eyes today.

Happy New Year to all!

photo credit: <a href=”http://www.flickr.com/photos/zenat_el3ain/3727013559/”>Aih.</a&gt; via <a href=”http://photopin.com”>photopin</a&gt; <a href=”http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0/”>cc</a&gt;

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on December 30, 2013, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Happy birthday to your beautiful daughter, Christy! Enjoy this day and every day.

  2. Happy Birthday!!! I hope you enjoy your day with your daughter ❤

  3. Happy Birthday to that sweet girl from all the Suttons! Miss you guys.

  4. Happy Birth-day to your whole family. It’s definitely a day for celebrating! My daughter turned 15 in October and I cherish every day with her. Have a ton of fun.

  5. Happy birthday to your sweet 14 YO baby, Christy! 🙂

  6. Amazing! It’s enough to tear a mom up, right? 😀

  7. That is, to make you emotional with tears… 😉

