Hello, Little Doggie

This guy looks lackadaisical like Phillip. (Say that three times fast.) freedigitalphotos.net

This guy looks lackadaisical like Phillip.
(Say that three times fast.)
freedigitalphotos.net

In my current novel-in-progress, which is women’s fiction, my main character has a dog named Phillip. He’s a grumpy beagle who, despite being “just” a furry sidekick, steals every scene he’s in. Whether it’s his sheer disdain for everything going on around him (truth is, his discord is all a ruse), or the way he lovingly gets under the MC’s skin, this guy has what it takes to be one of my favorite dogs.

And of course now I’m thinking about my other favorite dogs, so let me introduce you.

Let’s do the fictional pooch first: Enzo, from Garth Stein’s novel, The Art of Racing in the Rain, my favorite (I said favorite!) book. (You can read the review I wrote here.) He is a loyal, intelligent dog who stole my heart in paragraph one.

Then there’s my friend Melanie‘s dog, Owen, who’s quite the handsome miniature schnauzer. You can find him on Facebook. He’s smart, well-spoken, adventurous. And he may or may not have a Spanish accent.
`

chloeBest for last: My niece, Chloe! She’s an English bulldog with the best temperament and sweetest face you’ve ever seen. See? –>

Life is so much better with a dog. Even a fictional one.
`
What about you, do you write pets into your stories? As a reader, do you feel fiction is more fun when there are “furbabies” to round out the family?
`
Tell me about the dogs that are most memorable for you.
About Janna

writer, editor, marketing assistant, resume consultant, mom, wannabe philosopher, advocate, and possibilitarian / you can call me Janna

Posted on January 8, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I love that first dog! And yep I like animals in stories but sadly I wrote one out in my WIP cause it ruined what I needed to do.

  2. I included a dog in Game On and I’m writing about a nosy Golden Retriever in my WIP. 🙂 Love dogs!

  3. I haven’t had a pet since I was in elementary school, so I probably wouldn’t even know how to write a pet, Janna. 🙂 I almost always have children or elderly people in my stories.

  4. I’m a total dog fanatic! We have two dogs now and at one point had four (I don’t recommend this). I’ve only written one dog into a story and believe it or not, I kept forgetting about the dog. I had to go back and write him into scenes where he should have been with his owner. I’ve never written one again…

