Several Important Reminders for 2014

images-381

It’s the New Year. It’s 2014. And most of you reading this post are women. I just wanted to take a few moments of your time to remind you of several very important things you should do sometime in 2014 IF you haven’t already scheduled them.

images-382

1.  Get a yearly health exam. It’s a good thing to do. You only need to see the doctor once a year — unless there are other reasons you’re going: you’re sick, have a chronic health issue, etc. But even if you don’t “need” to, you need to anyway. Everyone should be checked out at least once a year. You never know what new and exciting questions your doctor may ask you that might help you in keeping healthy all year round and live a longer life.

images-383

2.  Get an annual mammogram. They’re changing the guidelines all the time, but I think most doctors suggest you have a mammogram once a year after the age of 40. My breast cancer (DCIS) could only be detected in a mammogram, not by a monthly self-exam.  So, GO DO IT. Make that appointment now. You could be saving a life, i.e. YOUR OWN.

images-384

3.  Get an eye exam. I used to poo-poo these but as we age, our vision can change with time. You might need glasses, or maybe your prescription isn’t strong enough. Why strain those beautiful baby blues (or greens or browns or whatever color your eyes may be) if you can see your eye doctor once a year and get checked out.

images-385

4.  Exercise. We all know we should exercise to keep healthy, reduce stress, and lift our overall mood. I never exercised when I was younger. I skated and rode a bicycle when I was a kid, took the bus instead of walking when I was a teenager. It took me years and years of generally not feeling quite “up to par” for me to hear, “Stop drinking caffeine and exercise” for me to take it to heart. Now, if I don’t incorporate a short bike ride into my daily schedule, things feels a bit off. And it’s fun to get outside, especially since many of us are so tied to our computers.

images-386

5.  Take time for yourself. We’ve all heard this a million times, I’m sure. Taking time for yourself can mean many things for different people. I do yoga several times a week. It keeps me limber so I can ride my horse. And riding my horse is something I do solely for my benefit. I get to be in the wilderness, breathe fresh air, see the trees and the sun and the flowers and the birds. Which really makes me happy and does wonders for my mental health. Find something you like to do and DO it. For YOU.

THIS IS BY NO MEANS A COMPLETE LIST. There are other things, like having a yearly dental exam, losing excess weight, etc., but these are a few of my favorites.

Posted on January 24, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the reminders, Patricia! Women too often put themselves last and we shouldn’t.

  2. Great list, Patti. That reminds me I need to make an eye appointment…

  3. Thanks, Patti … sometimes we forget to add our name to the list of those we need to nurture and care for 🙂

  4. Wonderful, Patti, thanks! I always need reminders to do this stuff. 🙂

  5. Great points, Patti. We had a gorgeous day here in Raleigh on Sunday, with temps in the 60s, after lows in the single digits last week. It felt great to be outside, and it reminded me of how important it is to get away from the computer and enjoy the world. Even in the cold weather, it’s good to spend at least a little time in the sunshine every day.

