What Happens in Vegas Should Stay in Vegas

I haven’t ranted in a while, so I figure I’m due. The other night my family gathered in the den to watch a movie. My son is sixteen and he likes action/suspense movies that are typically rated R and not appropriate for our fourteen-year-old daughter. Case in point, we saw Captain Phillips (rated PG-13) in the theater and she got scared.dvds

After much debate, we found a PG-13 movie about four old men who go to Vegas. The movie seemed innocent enough for her and yet funny enough for him. Everybody was happy—until the movie started playing. Now, bear with me because I want you to imagine watching this with a fourteen-year-old girl. A somewhat naïve, very innocent fourteen-year-old girl. A girl I’d like to remain somewhat naïve and very innocent, at least for a little while longer.

At the beginning of the movie, a happily married man who is not so happy in his retirement is ambivalent about going to Vegas with his old buddies. His wife, sensing something’s off in their marriage, gives him a condom, a little blue pill, and permission to cheat on her in order for him to snap out of it so she can have her husband back. I kid you not. Not only did this probably confuse my daughter about what is and is not appropriate about marriage, but I had to tell my husband that at no time and under no circumstances would that scenario ever come to pass.

So this guy skips though Vegas searching for a young hottie to bed. It’s his entire mission despite the fact that his other friend is getting married that weekend and his friend is marrying the wrong woman. The only thing that matters is finding some booty since his wife has granted him a mulligan. When he finally stumbles across someone drunk enough to take him up on it, he realizes he can’t cheat on his wife, but suggests a blowjob instead. Nice. Very nice.

What is wrong with Hollywood? It was gross enough watching old men slobber after women young enough to be their granddaughters, but to suggest a movie all about sex is appropriate for a PG-13 audience is just sad. I feel sorry for today’s youth because the messages are so confusing and impossible to ignore. Needless to say, I’m done being as innocent and naïve as my daughter. From now on I’ll assume all movies rated PG-13 should be rated R. Or maybe I’ll cross movies off our list of things to do and suggest a board game instead.

Am I overreacting or just watching the wrong kind of movies?

photo credit: Frenkieb via photopin cc

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on February 10, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Television is just as bad! I’ve banned Two and a Half Men and many others from my house. 🙂

  2. I’ve mostly stopped watching R-rated movies, because the standard has slipped so far. PG-13 movies are often toes-over-the-line (or whole bodies over the line) as well. When I’m figuring out whether to let my kids watch something, I often head over to a website called Common Sense Media where it details what’s in the film and parents can write up their own opinions. So I at least have some idea what we’re getting into.

    Of course, these days it’s almost as scary letting your kids watch commercials, movie trailers, and YouTube. It’s a mine field out there.

  3. I have to chime in with Tracy that television is equally as bad. I’ve sat next to my daughter as she watches stuff on MTV that is SO inappropriate that I’ve turned it off. The kids were 14 or 15 years old and it was all about having sex and drinking and doing drugs and I was thinking, “Is this teaching by example?” Geez.

    • Thankfully my kids don’t watch MTV or I’d have ripped the TV cord out of the wall. It’s everywhere and with phones and iPads, there’s no way to avoid the messages. Our kids are not growing up in the same world we did. 😦

  4. I have to wonder who is making these decisions. I suspect it’s young adults with no children. Or perhaps it’s older adults whose children are grown up, and they’ve forgotten exactly how impressionable teenagers are. As parents, when our children are subjected to this sort of thing, all we can do is explain how wrong it is to act like this in real life…unfortunately, by then innocence is lost.

    Christy, your children are lucky to have you and your husband there as examples of what a loving relationship should be like. 🙂

  5. Hollywood is run by young accountants. It’s all about money, unfortunately. Many of them are pretty darn stupid. It is sad. I miss the old movies, which were more discreet and moral.

  6. Christy, I feel dirty just reading about that movie. Yuck! How could anyone think that’s appropriate for children under 17? It’s not just content – it’s the MESSAGE. I don’t care that the guy realized in the end that he couldn’t cheat on his wife. The notion that adultery could make a marriage better is destructive, and confusing for a young teen.

