Aging with Nature

As I age, I find myself looking for ways to eat healthy and increase my longevity. We all know the secret is diet and exercise. Vitamins and minerals, cardio workouts… I get it. But eating multi-vitamins have their own set of challenges. Too much of one, not enough of another, this one inhibits the absorption of that one…why can’t I just get what I need from food? It’s complicated. We’re busy, we’re watching our weight, who can eat 8 servings of fruits and vegetables in one day?

Me? I’ve decided to take small steps toward the bigger picture of good health. Take lemon water. It’s a natural digestive aid. Lemon water purges toxins from the blood which helps keep skin clear as well. The vitamin C component helps decrease wrinkles and blemishes. Just ask Martha Stewart! She drinks the juice of one lemon in a glass of water every day. Me, too. 🙂

branch of lemons

Another fabulous find is flax seed. Lots of people take this one for their heart, but I started taking it for its anti-inflammatory benefits. Not sure whether it reduces inflammation in my body or not, but I am sold on its hair and nail re-growth aspects. My hair has noticeably improved. Noticeably. And flax seed is easy to incorporate into my daily routine. I simply plop 2 tablespoons into my oatmeal every morning—or banana-strawberry smoothie—and I’m off to the races!

Another wonder food is the avocado. Avocadoes provide all 18 essential amino acids necessary for the body to form a complete protein. Unlike the protein in steak, which is difficult for most people to digest, avocado protein is readily absorbed by the body because avocadoes also contain fiber. Protein helps sustain muscle. Muscle strength training protects against osteoporosis—a problem for aging, post-menopausal women. Ugh. Can’t wait for those days.

2 oz wheatgrass juice

I’m also beginning a wheatgrass regime. 2 oz. a day they say is good for anemia and a host of other things that ail you but anemia is something I can acutally test to prove. Two months of re-oxygenating my blood with wheatgrass and I will recheck my levels of hemoglobin, etc. I’ll keep you posted.

So how about you? Any beauty and health secrets you’d like to share?

For more on healthy eating and organic gardening, head on over to my garden blog: BloominThyme.

Posted on February 24, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Wow, Dianne! You’ve put a lot of thought into what you eat. I’ve recently started making smoothies with blueberries, strawberries, bananas, kale, spinach, and almond milk. Sounds gross, but it tastes like fruit! Even my 14 year old is drinking them. I may experiment with protein powder to cover all my bases. I’m going to try adding lemon to my water…sound yummy and helps that it’s good for us, too! Thanks for sharing your healthy tips.

  2. My husband and I have been lemon water drinkers for years now. I just started experimenting with flax seed. Good to know it helps with hair.

  3. Good for you – doing all this for yourself to keep healthy. I’ve been a vegetarian since forever and I exercise every day. I believe it helps with not only my health but the stress level. I also do yoga and ride my horse. I didn’t know that about avocados. Thank you.
    Patti

  4. Eat healthy, live long! 😉 Always looking for new ways to improve… 🙂

  5. I put a lemon in my ice tea every day, but clearly I need to squeeze the lemon. LOL – Thank you for the tip. I’ve used flaxseed meal for years (ground flaxseeds) in all my baking. Even cookies! The kids are used to it. I’m trying to eat more avacados, but they don’t come cheap. Still, they are yummy! I do the smoothies just as Christy Hayes described, but I’ve never tried the wheat grass … not yet.

  6. I’m a lemon-in-my-water drinker, too, Dianne. For anyone who doesn’t like the taste of water–and there are people out there who don’t–it adds a nice zip to the taste. I also love green tea. It has lots of health benefit (of which I can’t think of any at the moment, lol!). I always eat well at breakfast and supper, but my downfall is lunch. I’m a grabber, and sometimes what I grab isn’t always the best health wise.

    Eat healthy, live long…I love that!

  7. I’ve been putting flax seed in my yogurt as a source of Omega 3. I tried lemon water but felt like it was softening the enamel of my teeth if I drank too much of it. So, everything in moderation. Good to know about avocados – my husband is a big guacamole fan!

  1. Pingback: Time Flies When You’re Having… | Women Unplugged

