Time Flies When You’re Having…

On Monday, Christy’s post caught me off guard. Had she switched places with Dianne? Nope, there on the previous Monday was Dianne’s post.

Yep, time sure does fly when you’re not looking.

Time ClockWhen my boys were little and I worked outside of the house, I used to believe that the days and weeks and years passed by quickly because I was so very busy.

I didn’t know any better.

When my boys were teenagers and I continued to work outside of the home, I believed that the days and hours and minutes would slow down once I was no longer helping with homework and playing chauffeur and working so many gosh-darn overtime hours.

I still didn’t know any better.

The year my mom turned 65, I said, “Mom, time is whooshing past. I can’t wait till the boys grow up and life slows back down.”

My mother looked at me with wisdom in her eyes. “If you think it’s fast now, just wait till you’re my age.”

I didn’t believe her.

And yet, now that my boys are grown up and on their own, now that I’ve stepped out of the daily commute rat race and work from home, now that it feels like I’m not rushing here and there 24/7, time continues to pick up pace.

Beautiful SunsetI’ve talked to my boys and they concur. Those childhood and teenage years crawled past with all of the urgency of a snail crossing the road. But we all agree that the moment we turned the corner into adulthood, time shifted into overdrive.

How can that be? Why does it sometimes seem that the hours in a single day drag on endlessly, yet the passage of time from one Christmas to another happens in the blink of an eye? And if time speeds by faster each year, what will it be like at 95 or 100?

Do you know of a way to slow down time? Or is the ever increasing passage of time all hogwash and you recommend I get my head examined?

Thanks for stopping by to talk to me today!

(Time clock photo credit. Beautiful sunset photo credit.)

About Sheila Seabrook

Author of Single Title Romantic Comedy and Women's Fiction

Posted on March 5, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. My kids are teenagers and time is already zipping by. I think the key is to take the time to appreciate every day. Your mom is very wise!

  2. Oh my goodness, Sheila, you’ve taken the words right out of my mouth. I actually have a sticky note on my computer reminding me to research if someone has done a study on this “time flying by faster and faster as we age”. I’d love to know if anyone “out there” has looked into this with more depth. I feel the same exact way as you do. As I grow older, Christmas comes in about 3 months, it seems, and all the rest of the special days zoom toward me with ever-increasing speed. WHY?

    • Patti, you and I seem to be on the same wavelength a lot! I wish I knew the answer to “why”, although I suppose knowing the answer wouldn’t change the passage of time, would it. 🙂

  3. If time is going to speed up as we age, I think it’s only fair that our metabolisms do, too!

  4. Sheila, I do believe that it was only yesterday that the kids were teens. Then I turned my head and I became a grandmother. Another turn and my twin grandchildren are preparing for college applications.

    No, you can’t slow the clock. I think the trick is to enjoy the time we have and savor those few moments we have with our loved-ones 🙂

  5. The older I get, the faster time goes by. I miss those endless summers from childhood. I don’t think you can slow down the way you perceive the passage of time, but you can increase your mindfulness, living in the moment and enjoying each as it passes (something I need to do more of!).

  6. Some days it seems like I’ve just gotten out of bed and dressed and I’m putting my pajamas on. Some days, however, it seems like jammie time is never going to get here. I think it depends on your activities and stress level during the day.

    I haven’t figured out how to slow it down though. Although when I was just home from surgery several years ago, time did seem to crawl along as I lay sprawled on the sofa. Again, it has to do with your activities and stress level, I think. I don’t recommend taking that route though.

    So nice to know that your children are finally understanding you.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    • Good point, Patricia. It seems that if we’re totally involved with something, time whooshes past. But if we’re forced to sit on our butt when we’d rather not, that’s what makes time slow down. Thanks for popping by. 🙂

  7. It’s so true! I’ve come to realize the way you have, there will be no slowing of time. Which means we must make the best of everything.

  1. Pingback: Time Flies When You’re Having…

