Regina Brett

Below are some statements attributed to Regina Brett, a 90-year-old who knows a few things about living. These are a few of my favorites.

What other people think of you is none of your business.

When in doubt, just take the next small step.

If a relationship has to be secret, you shouldn’t be in it.

Don’t compare your life to others. You have no idea what their journey is all about.

Burn the candles, use the nice sheets, wear the fancy lingerie. Don’t save it for a special occasion. Today is special.

Frame every so-called disaster with these words…”In five years, will this matter?”

Growing old beats the alternative–dying young.

Your children get only one childhood.

God loves you because of who God is, not because of anything you did or didn’t do.

All that truly matters in the end is that you loved.

With everything happening in the news, it helps me to take pause and center on what this life is all about. Hope the brief time-out was helpful for you as well!

 

Posted on March 17, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Sure thing it was helpful and thank you for this. It made my afternoon much better. I love the one: what other people think of you is none of your business. I think that’s helped me through life because it’s kind of like, “you can’t please all the people all the time”.

  2. Thank you for sharing this. These are all worthy of being framed and hung on the wall.

  3. Brilliant.

  4. My fav, Dianne, is this one: “Burn the candles, use the nice sheets, wear the fancy lingerie. Don’t save it for a special occasion. Today is special.” I always tuck the nice things away for tomorrow, but I need to learn to live for today. 🙂

