A LITTLE YOGA BREAK

I love yoga. I love the flexibility, the deep breathing, and the peace it brings me. For the hour I practice the poses, my mind is focused on the singular task of performing the routines, which helps enhance my focus when I’m at the computer working.

maya-fiennesA couple of years ago, I discovered Maya Fiennes book, Yoga for Real Life, and her Kundalini Yoga to Detox and Destress DVD, and these quickly became part of my exercise program. Maya teaches Kundalini Yoga which “awakens awareness”. It is the oldest form of yoga and uses meditative focus, breath work, and chanting.

Recently I found this DVD available on YouTube, along with a couple of other cool features from this yoga teacher. Turn on your sound and enjoy the background music. It’s written and performed by Maya, who is also a classical pianist and performer. If you’re interested in trying it, this program runs about sixty minutes.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=THX9jKPEMGs

However, if you want a quick routine to energize you, Maya also offers something different, a free style five minute routine that will totally get you moving and make you smile. If you don’t have time to check out the other links, make sure you check out this one because it’s super cool and fun!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zI0q1nG7BN4

Or if you just want to lie back and relax, here is one of her songs.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=V05RKa1ohf4

Visit Maya’s website where you can learn more about Kundalini yoga.

Have you ever considered doing yoga or meditation? What about the practices appeals or doesn’t appeal to you?

About Sheila Seabrook

Author of Single Title Romantic Comedy and Women's Fiction

Posted on March 26, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I might have to start with this, Sheila. Every time I think about going to a class, I worry the regulars are going to shun me for not knowing the moves. God knows I could use some flexibility. Thanks for sharing!

    • One of the things Maya Fiennes says in her book is to not worry about doing the post “exactly” right. The important thing is to start, do what you can, then you’ll improve your flexibility over time. And being able to do it at home is wonderful, especially when one lives in the frozen north like I do. 🙂

  2. I’ve tried yoga classes twice. I can never seem to clear my head enough to achieve the proper relaxation. I’ll give the five minute routine a shot today, though, since that’s about the length of my attention span these days. 🙂

  3. Sheila, I said it on your site. You are truly a kindred spirit and it is no surprise that you practice Yoga. It is the truest method to find inner peace and keep good health. Thanks for this wonderful post and your links as well 🙂

  4. I’ve been practicing yoga for years now, Sheila, and totally agree with you about the benefits. It has helped me with any tight back muscles I’ve had and with riding my horse. Wonderful and helpful post!

    • Spending so many hours a day at the computer really plays havoc on those back muscles, don’t they, Patti? I’d be a total mess without the daily stretches. 🙂

  5. I can’t ever clear my mind enough to do meditation, but the yoga poses are good for flexibility and balance. I need to get back into something like that!

    • Yoga helps relieve sore neck and back muscles caused from sitting at the computer for so long every day. And as far as the meditation, Jennette, the key is to start in small increments, and just keep dragging your thoughts back to center. 🙂

  6. Thanks, Sheila, I’m definitely going to try these!

  7. I don’t do yoga as I’m unable to get down on the floor but I do stretch, walk and lift weights. For mind clearing exercises, I do zentangle drawings. They allow you to, like yoga, get lost in what you’re doing and let all else go. I will see if there are yoga poses I could do on a bed. Helpful post, Sheila!

  1. Pingback: A LITTLE YOGA BREAK | Sheila Seabrook

