Spring Has Sprung

With the arrival of March 20th, Spring is here! For us in California, we are finally FINALLY getting the rain that perhaps just might keep us from an upcoming drought. But the weather people say that no matter what, there’s no way (given what’s “normal” for California) we’ll have enough water for the Spring, Summer, and Fall.

Which brings us to conservation. We Californians already know what it’s like to go through a drought, i.e. low flow toilets, only one shower a day, no watering lawns, no washing cars, no brushing teeth and running the water at the same time. Need I go on? We’re aware what we have to do when Mother Nature doesn’t step up to the plate.

In reality, we should always take care not to “waste”, no matter what it is, right? I grew up hearing about the “starving people in Africa” and I’m betting many of you did as well. That old saying, “waste not, want not” is embedded in my brain forever.

So now California not only has a reputation for not having enough clean water to sustain us for long, but we also have those dreaded earthquakes. Everyone who’s NOT from here is scared to death of ever experiencing one. Whereas many of us here think twisters and tornados and floods are anathema to a “normal” life.

Actually I love California. Yes, we have our problems, but it’s a wonderful place to live.

What say you?

Posted on March 28, 2014, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Believe it or not, we have had several drought years here in Georgia. Most of the time it’s due to lack of rain, but other times it’s because of a crazy water issue between Georgia and Florida. Once we started with the water restrictions, we pretty much adapted them as normal in our house. You never know when the next drought will be!

    • Tracy, I had no idea that other states experienced droughts. They never mention them on the news here. They only tell us about twisters and tornados and such. I know we have some sort of crazy water issue here between the L.A. area and the San Francisco area. I don’t know much about it but I know some sort of battle exists.
      Thanks for telling me.

  2. California is a lovely place to visit, but I wouldn’t want to live there for a variety of reasons–none of which you mentioned. I think every state has its issues, but as long as you are happy with your state, that’s all that matters. Thank goodness there are 50 to choose from!

    • You’re right, Christy! There are 50 and everyone has their preferences. I know when I lived in Oregon it rained so often I hated it and would never live there again. But the rain makes it green and lush and many people love that.

  3. On the East Coast of the U.S., droughts and drought restrictions aren’t unusual. Because we normally get ample rainfall (more than we use), we’ve got ground water to draw on. The main problem during droughts is that the municipal reservoirs run low for people on public water. If you’ve got a well, you’ve generally got enough water, but you may have to do a lot of supplemental watering to keep your lawn and garden plants alive.

    Southern California is a desert, so the consequences of a drought can be much more severe. Even under good conditions, the region uses more water than it gets in the form of rain.

    I’d love to live in the San Diego area for a few years, but I don’t know that it would ever really feel like home. I like the rain!

    • Man, Andrea, I’m learning so much about other states. It’s like a geography lesson. When I lived in Oregon where it rains a LOT, we had a well. That was my only experience with one, though. And, no, you wouldn’t be satisfied with the amount of rain in the S.F. region. And San Diego isn’t known for its rain either!

  4. Patti, I grew up on a farm on the Canadian prairies. At some point during the summer, our well would run dry. Fortunately, it would only be for a brief spell, nothing like the droughts you have in California. Even when we moved to town, we would have to ration water during the hot dry spells. In the early 2000’s, we had a major drought in our area…no rain from early spring till late fall. The only thing that would grow were weeds. So many farmers lost their crops that year, and it was so sad to see brown everywhere!

    As you know, I live on an acreage. We don’t have a well, so my DH hauls our water. Needless to say, we’re very careful with our water. We never brush our teeth and run the water at the same time, have low flush toilets (which are popular in our area of the world, too), etc. We do however have a huge pond on the acreage where we capture the runoff from the snow melting in the spring, and we use that for watering outside, washing vehicles, and such.

    And while it may be spring in California, we just had our latest snowfall on Wednesday of this week. It’s still freezing cold during the day. I could use a little of your California warmth right now. πŸ™‚

    • Wow, Sheila, what I’m learning is that a lot of people have wells. Where I live here in the Bay Area, it’s just not that typical. Of course there are many people that have wells but our water (which is wonderful and tasteless, as water should be) comes from the East Bay Municipal Utility District and we’re fortunate to have it.

  5. Sorry to be so late to the show, Patti. No matter where you live there are issues. Of course, now that I have moved to Florida, there is the dreaded hurricane season. When I moved from New York City to here, I was amazed that the weather is the top story on each news broadcast. Truly, I thought that was strange.

    Reasons for others to be afraid or not want to live where you live, like Ca with earthquakes and mudslides? How about being a native New Yorker and having everyone think you are surrounded by crime and grime? Actually, NYC is one of the safest cities in the US and ranks like 20 for top crimes, but she has a bad rep anyway. New Yorkers “weather” subway strikes and walk in the hundreds over our bridges to work, take out snow shoes or ski to work when it snows and ignore the chaos of rush hour.

    I’d love to visit your state and see every single part of it, from SoCal to Monterey and I know I would love it all πŸ™‚

    • Florence, you’re right about the bad reputation New York has because I think of the central part of the city as chaotic and busy and crime-ridden. Yet because of the movies I’ve seen, I know that within a few short minutes from that “core” with the bad rep are suburbs and countryside and such, right?

