Perspective

I spent the past few days stressing about all sorts of things. About my lagging word count. About my ever-growing to-do list. About the half-empty shelves in my pantry and the lack of time I have to fill them. About the guests in my house and the weeds in my yard and the pollen falling from the sky. It’s like the more I stress, the more I have to stress about because I stress about everything, big things and silly things and everything in between.

Until a dear friend’s email landed in my inbox yesterday. Her father died, suddenly and unexpectedly and far, far too young. He wasn’t sick. He wasn’t unhealthy. One day he was fine, the next he was gone.

And just like that, all those things I’d been stressing about for days evaporated like a puddle in the July sun. So what if the weeds are taking over? Who cares if there’s no bread in the pantry? No words today? Tomorrow will be better. There’s nothing like death for putting life in perspective, and my new perspective is this: don’t stress the small stuff.

Today, there’s only one item on my to-do list. Call all my people and tell them I love them.

About Kimberly S. Belle

Kimberly Belle grew up in Eastern Tennessee, in a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachians. A graduate of Agnes Scott College in Decatur, Georgia, Kimberly lived for over a decade in the Netherlands and has worked in marketing and fundraising for various nonprofits. She's the author of two novels, THE LAST BREATH and THE ONES WE TRUST (August 2015). She divides her time between Atlanta and Amsterdam. Keep up with Kimberly on Facebook (www.facebook.com/KimberlyBelleBooks), Twitter (@KimberlySBelle), or via her website at www.kimberlybellebooks.com.

Posted on April 25, 2014, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. So true, Kimberly! All it takes is one unexpected tragedy to put life in perspective. Enjoy every moment. 🙂

  2. Wow, THAT sure puts things into perspective, Kimberly. I’m going to do the same thing!

  3. Everything can wait, but it sometimes takes a jolt to make us realize what’s important. Thanks for the reminder and my deepest sympathy to your friend.

  4. It’s far too easy to get caught up in all of the little things in life and forget the really important things, family and friends. Take care, Kimberly!

