My Favorite Child

A while back, a father blogged that he liked one of his sons better than the other one. He didn’t say he loved one more than the other, just that he enjoyed spending time with the older one more than the younger one because—duh!—he and the older son could do more fun things together. The admission caused quite a stir in the parenting blogosphere and everywhere else it reached. While I applaud the guy’s honesty, I think he’s an idiot for putting it out into cyber space for the entire world to see. But he’ll get his payback years from now in the form of therapy bills for his younger, least favorite child.

If we’re admitting to having favorites, though, I’ve got a little confession to make: I have a favorite child. No, no! Not one I created with my husband, but one I created in my head. (Note to my daughter: Just because you changed your contact to “Favorite Child” in my phone doesn’t mean you own the title.)

RiskyGame_coverReviseNext week, RISKY GAME, my fourth book in the Out of Bounds series will be released. (In case you missed it, the third book in the series, A NUMBERS GAME, was released as a digital novella last month.) The book features Baltimore Blaze tight end, Brody Janik, my favorite child among the Blaze players. I don’t know what it is about Brody, but from the minute he ambled into my head, he became larger than life. Laughing blue eyes, a wicked smile and a laid back demeanor all make him America’s favorite cover boy, but there’s more to Brody than just a handsome face who can catch a football. I think that’s what I love about him so much.

Growing up with four older sisters, Brody understands women. But, as he told Julianne in FOOLISH GAMES, he just wants a woman who “gets” him. Too bad for Brody that he’s still trying to figure out who he is himself. With a guy like that stomping about in my head, of course I had to put a smart woman in his path who could unravel the man-child and point him in the right direction. Shannon works hard and makes her own way in life. She doesn’t need Brody or his money and fame to validate her. There’s a reason this book is dedicated to five young women who are just entering the adult world. I want them to be like Shannon. My wish is that they own it—whatever it is they wish to be. Especially that girl who calls herself my favorite child.

What do you think? Is it possible to have a favorite child? Is it easier for a father to make that type of declaration than a mom?

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on May 2, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Our children are born with unique personalities that we can’t control. One child’s personality may mesh better with a parent’s personality than the other child. That’s human nature. For the father to call one child a favorite is to diminish his relationship with his ‘least favorite’ child. He’s proven not mature enough to understand the long-term damage his viral statements will have on one of his children and that’s very sad.

    God blessed me with two kids who have very different personalities. Some days I enjoy one more than the other simply because I’m human. Does that make one my favorite? No. Some days one or both of my kids prefer to hang out with their dad more than me. Does that make him their favorite? No. There are a lot of days I wish I didn’t have to hang out with me!

    Even my dogs have different personalities and they are from the same litter. I love them both and don’t have a favorite. I can appreciate each of their qualities and celebrate their strengths and weaknesses.

    Now book characters…I try not to have favorites, but I do because they are not real. Can’t wait to read Brody’s story!

  2. Just as Christy said, every child has his/her own unique personality that may mesh better with one parent more than the other. My son and husband are so similar that they clash big time and this house has had many many days of discord because of it. I don’t think my husband will ever be really close to my son but maybe when my son gets older things will change. Then there’s my daughter who hangs out with me and we seem to “get” each other. I feel lucky to have two very different children who I love equally, though they are sooo different from one another and different from me and my husband. That’s what life is all about.

  3. I have a favorite daughter and a favorite son. 1 of each. Thanks goodness they both can be the favorite! Not sure what that dad was thinking.

    Not sure why as humans we are programmed to have a favorite– football team, color, song, etc. But it seems to be that way.

  4. Janna Qualman

    I finished Risky Game a few days ago, Tracy, and it was TERRIFIC. And I can see why you care so much for Brody—physique aside 😉 —he was special in a lot of ways.

    I can’t imagine having a favorite child. There can be differences in personality that help you understand one better, or relate to one better, or whatever, but for that to compute to level of love? I just can’t fathom it.

