Diary of a debut author, part I

9780778317227_TS_SMPMy debut, The Last Breath, hits stores and the world wide web on September 30th. By then, my publisher, agent, and I will have been working on the release for almost a year. You’d think I would feel more prepared. Heck, I’m hoping by the fall I will be. But for now, I’m a stewing mess of nerves and insecurities.

I imagine the questions that roll through my head on repeat aren’t anything every debut author hasn’t thought. How will people find my book? What if everyone who finds it hates it? What if I have a launch party and no one comes? Is there anybody out there who would fork over $8.49 for a copy besides me and my mother? The thing is, I don’t know. I don’t know, y’all! And that freaks the worrier in me way the heck out.

But in a couple of weeks, I will pack up my prettiest dress and highest heels and head up to BEA, the Book Expo of America, to hock my books. I will schmooze with my publisher and sign a million gallies and network with buyers and pass out swag to anyone who will take it. And I will do my very, very best to leave my insecurities at home.

So if you happen to be in NYC on May 30th, I’d love it if you came see me at the Harlequin booth.

Because, you know, I’m not entirely certain anyone else will.

About Kimberly S. Belle

Kimberly Belle grew up in Eastern Tennessee, in a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachians. A graduate of Agnes Scott College in Decatur, Georgia, Kimberly lived for over a decade in the Netherlands and has worked in marketing and fundraising for various nonprofits. She's the author of two novels, THE LAST BREATH and THE ONES WE TRUST (August 2015). She divides her time between Atlanta and Amsterdam. Keep up with Kimberly on Facebook (www.facebook.com/KimberlyBelleBooks), Twitter (@KimberlySBelle), or via her website at www.kimberlybellebooks.com.

Posted on May 16, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Enjoy this time! It’s crazy, but fun. 🙂

  2. Oh, Kimberly, if I was in the area I’d come and buy that book in a minute! You’ll do just fine, I can tell. The insecurities are so typical for all of us. We’re never “good enough” or “no one will like our books”. That’s what we all tell ourselves, eh? Have a wonderful time at BEA!

    • Thanks, Patti, and I wish you were going to be there, too! As you know, our stories are such a labor of love, sending them out into the world is terrifying and exhilarating all at the same time.

  3. Just read your blurb online and it sounds fabulous! And you’re a Buzz Book! You can’t miss. Just enjoy the ride!

  4. You will do wonderful at faking confidence, Kimberly. LOL! 🙂 Your story blurb is so intriguing and the cover is gorgeous. Enjoy every moment! It’s what you worked so hard to achieve…

  5. Janna Qualman

    That cover is awesome. Congratulations, Kimberly!

