Phoenix ~ a guest blog

A few months ago, I wrote a blog post here about a writer friend of mine, Kennedy Ryan, whose son was diagnosed with Autism when he was two. I said she was a fighter. I told you she was inspiring. Today, I’ve invited her to share her story here, so you can see what I mean. I think you’ll love her as much as I do. ~ Kimberly

* * * * *

I’ve always loved a phoenix rising from the ashes as the perfect image of rebirth, but mine rose from a river. On the long hot days of summer, along a riverbank, I recovered something I didn’t even realize I had lost. My imagination.

For as long as my memory stretches back, I have always wanted to write. I used to make up stories on my grandmama’s back porch, using a dirty old mop as my long-haired heroine. I wrote poetry. I wrote short stories. Then later, I wrote articles. Even later I obtained my journalism degree. Writing came to me as easy as breath, and was as essential. I would literally talk out loud when I was alone, in character. I had voices in my head, and I loved to hear the cadence of their speech. To air out the dialogue trapped in the walls of my mind. Somewhere between college and marriage and having my son, the voices went quiet. Drowned out by the necessities of earning a living and maybe just growing up. Maybe just going through.

My son was diagnosed with autism when he was two years old. A lot of kids with autism are obsessed with water. Mine is like the poster child for water obsession. Literally every day during the summers, we are at fountains, swimming pools, rivers – some body of water. Not only is it fun for him, but usually wears him out and helps him sleep better. A couple of summers ago, his water of choice was the Chattahoochee River. We would go for hours. While he frolicked, I’d often sit on the riverbank and just absorb the beauty and days-end solitude. And then I heard a faint, scratchy-voiced whisper in my head. A trace of sound in my mind I almost didn’t recognize. As I watched the river, sometimes churning and sometimes placid, it told me a story. Characters started forming. Dialogue between a hero and a heroine ricocheted in my head. Instead of blocking it out, I started listening. I wrote notes on my phone’s Post It app. Played stenographer for the characters’ conversations. Took pictures of the river for setting cues. By the end of the summer, I’d assembled the makings of a novel, but was too scared to sit down and start writing. I couldn’t quite figure how to get those voices out of my head and into a word count on my laptop.

I thought back to those earliest days before I’d even considered myself a writer. I’d just been a kid, and my imagination had been my best friend and my favorite toy. Adult inhibitions hadn’t hindered me. I’d spoken aloud and alone. Fully inhabiting the characters in my head. Fully expressing their emotions for me to hear. I wondered if that would work now? So I tried it. In my kitchen. In my car. In the shower. Just started speaking the dialogue as I heard it, and it unlocked a door that had been barricaded for years. Barricaded by responsibilities and burdens and fears and worries. Everything I had allowed to weigh me down in the hard-to-bear years since my son’s diagnosis pressed against that door and held my imagination hostage.

And my voice was the key.

I started typing in August, and in a few months, had completed a novel. I thought it might be one of the best things I had ever written, but I couldn’t be sure. My husband and a few friends thought it was awesome, but they loved me too much to be unbiased, right? So I joined my local RWA chapter, surrounding myself with people who were serious about becoming published authors. They showed me how to polish my raw gift with the skills of writing craft until that little book shone. I entering writing contests, and used the feedback of every judge to improve the book.

For ten years, I had been working a full-time job, running my foundation for families living with Autism, and of course, taking care of my son. There hadn’t been much space or time in my life for things I wanted just for me. Writing was an indulgence I had denied myself, but as I talked to these writers and heard their stories, I realized I wanted to be a published writer. I wanted to share the voices in my head with the world.

I had signed up for my first writers’ conference, and a friend asked if I’d be pitching my novel.

Huh?

I really didn’t know what she meant. She explained that agents, publishers, and editors flew in from all over, and we could schedule a 10-minute slot to pitch our novel to them. I thought, why not? It would be great practice if nothing else. What did I have to lose? So I rehearsed my little spiel about the book, swallowed the knot of fear in my throat, batted at the butterflies in my belly, and pitched to an editor and an agent. I cannot overstate how elated and shocked I was when BOTH the editor from New York and the literary agent asked me to send my full novel for them to consider. I’ll never forget that day. Not ever. Even as I tried to manage my emotions; remind myself that they weren’t making any promises, that it didn’t usually happen this fast for most – excitement still coursed through me over the next few months every time I thought about them reading my book.

Three months after I submitted my novel, the literary agent contacted me saying she wanted to represent me. Not long after that, the editor from New York emailed me about publishing my book. Most people I’d spoken to said it took years to get published, and many of them were still trying. And it had happened for me in a matter of months. I didn’t take it for granted. I was so incredibly humbled and grateful.

I look at my life today – still running my foundation, still taking care of my son, but now writing full time. I am astounded by this fresh chapter. This blank page waiting for me to write the next words. That silence in my head has been filled with more voices than I can sort through some days. The characters, the ideas, the stories – they flood me like that rushing river that started it all. And I listen and I write and I joy in this thing that I know I was created to do. It is a fulfillment I had forgotten I wanted, but now that I have it, I’ll never go back.

* * * * *

Ryan_WhenYouAreMine_ebookKennedy’s debut, When You Are Mine, will be for sale everywhere on June 17th. Keep up with Kennedy on Facebook, Twitter, GoodreadsPinterest, or via her website, www.kennedyrwrites.com.

About Kimberly S. Belle

Kimberly Belle grew up in Eastern Tennessee, in a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachians. A graduate of Agnes Scott College in Decatur, Georgia, Kimberly lived for over a decade in the Netherlands and has worked in marketing and fundraising for various nonprofits. She's the author of two novels, THE LAST BREATH and THE ONES WE TRUST (August 2015). She divides her time between Atlanta and Amsterdam. Keep up with Kimberly on Facebook (www.facebook.com/KimberlyBelleBooks), Twitter (@KimberlySBelle), or via her website at www.kimberlybellebooks.com.

Posted on June 6, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Welcome, Kennedy! I don’t make it to that many GRW meetings because my daughter horse shows most Saturdays, but I’d love to meet and chat sometime. My first book was released a year ago and it’s been a whirlwind. Enjoy these next few weeks. Whether you’ve spent years trying to get published or not, you deserve this special time!!

    • Tracy, thank you for reaching out. I’d love to connect. I’m TRYING to enjoy, but it’s hard. LOL. Things are so busy and there is so much to do, but I want to savor this time that I’ve dreamed about for so long. Thanks for encouraging me to do so. 🙂

  2. Congratulations on your success! You’ve worked hard to get where you are today and you deserve it! Enjoy every minute!
    And thanks for telling us your story.
    Patti

  3. Kennedy, thanks so much for sharing your publishing journey. That urge to write down the voices in our head is irresistible, isn’t it? 🙂 Congratulations and good luck on your upcoming release!

  4. Janna Qualman

    Thank you for sharing your story! While the details which silenced my writing are different, I relate so much to this.

    And congratulations on your success. Best in all your endeavors, creative and otherwise. 🙂

    • I’m glad you relate! I think A LOT of women probably do. We trade so much sometimes. For me, it was ALL worth it. Every responsibility related to my family, to my son’s disability was a PRIVILEGE. But we have to listen to the voice inside that sometimes DEMANDS that we do something to express who we are. Truly are. And when that thing inside agitates us enough, we do something about it! 🙂 Thanks for the well wishes! The best to you as you take your steps forward. 🙂

  5. So thrilled for your success. Looking forward to reading your upcoming release. Try and find the joy in every day of this new chapter of your life!

    • Christy, thank you! I am trying! Things get so busy and so much is demanded, that you sometimes miss the joy! Gonna try to make sure I don’t do that. Thanks! Have an awesome day. 🙂

