Do You Believe?

Ouiji boardHappy Friday the 13th! I’m not a huge believer in magic or psychics or mediums or any of that other mumbo-jumbo.  Sure I used to own a Ouija board at one point in my life, but the darn thing never worked.  I’m not saying I don’t enjoy an occasional episode of the Long Island Medium on TLC.  Theresa Caputo is very entertaining, but everyone with a brain knows the show is edited to portray her “skills” in the best possible light.  Radar Online, that highly accurate website–*cough, cough* claimed last week that it has indisputable evidence that Caputo is a fake.  In the meantime, TLC is dancing in the corporate boardrooms over the negative publicity.  (Can you say Jon and Kate Plus 8!)

So, when my daughter’s horse trainer mentioned she was having a psychic reading done on our horse, I laughed. Then I probably choked a little because there was no way I was spending money on that!  (I bleed green from the time I pass through the barn gate until the time I leave.  Every. Time. It’s not called the Sport of Kings for nothing!)  She assured me she was covering the cost.  It was her way of “getting to know” the horses in her barn.  Okaaay.  Hey, who was I to spoil a little harmless fun for the woman and her teenage charges, right?

tessa in windowExcept that this women doesn’t physically “read” the horses.  It’s done over the phone!  The trainer just tells her the horse’s age and breed and she does the rest.  There’s a sucker born every minute, right?

Yeah, I was pretty cynical until I actually heard what my horse supposedly “said“.  The medium’s description of my equine diva’s personality was spot on.  Tessa likes her body and likes to perform in the ring. Something that would be easy to discern if she’d seen our mare at a horse show.  But could she tell this over the phone?  Hmm.

The one line in the reading that sent my skeptics’ mind racing however, was at the end.  You see, our mare has been in heat all spring.  And by ‘all spring’ I mean for nearly nine weeks straight!  Needless to say, she was a little bit cranky.  Okay, a lot.  Tacking her up was a dangerous exercise because she didn’t like to be touched in her mid-section.  At all.  Getting a girth around her required hazard pay.  So when the last line of the “reading” mentioned that Tessa was happy that her stomach felt better, my cynicism–along with my heart–took a little hit.

I still don’t know if I believe in psychic readings.  Outside of a carnival atmosphere, I doubt I’d ever pay for one.  Unless I wanted to ask my mare something, of course. 🙂

Do you believe in psychics or mediums?  Have you ever used one?  Was it useful? 

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on June 13, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Who knows what is possible? Not me.

  2. My daughter and I have always wanted to have our palms read, if that qualifies! We haven’t done it yet, but we think it would be fun. It depends on what she/he tell us whether we’ll give it any credence.
    But, a horse reading over the phone? Sounds totally, uh, I don’t know…wacky?

  3. I’m a skeptic, but I also believe there’s far more to the universe than science can currently explain. I’m open to the idea of psychic phenomena, yet most so-called psychics are frauds IMO. In this particular case, is it normal for female horses to go into estrus in the spring? And is it normal for them to experience abdominal pain at that time? If the answer to both of those questions is yes, then I think maybe this so-called psychic is simply an expert on horses and doesn’t really have any powers of divination.

  4. I find it fascinating, but purely from an entertainment angle. I would never plan my life around what one said, but I do find it interesting how bang on some of their statements are. Of course, when they state things in general terms (aren’t most show horses divas?), then that throws more doubt over what they say.

  5. It’s a sham…but entertaining!

  6. Janna Qualman

    I’ve never seen anything to lead me to believe in that stuff whole-heartedly, so I’d say I’m more a skeptic. A skeptic who loves to be entertained in this way, and who has some little bit of hope those who have passed on can communicate with us… even if some people make a living taking advantage of others with that hope.

    I wonder how often what’s divulged from a psychic is vaguely perfect enough so that people can project their exact details or scenario onto the statement? A little intuition and ability to read people, and…

