Happy Birthday, America!!!

capitol-fireworks02Happy July Fourth everyone!  I’m taking the day off with the rest of you, so now formal blog today.  Normally we spend July 4th at a ballgame somewhere, but this year, it’s the horse show grounds for us.  That’s the great thing about this country–and this holiday.  It’s kind of a summer intermission, if you will, a day to spend doing whatever you want. It’s also my intermission in a busy summer of writing.

This day is also associated with food.  (Seriously, what holiday isn’t nowadays?) Whether it’s hot dogs at the ball bark or burgers on  the grill much of America will spend part of the day gathering with family and friends to eat, drink and enjoy.  So what will you be doing?  More importantly what will you be eating?  My husband grew up eating crabs on Independence Day, so I know it’s not just hotdogs and apple pie for everyone.  I’d love to hear your plans!

About Tracy Solheim

Best-selling author of the Out of Bounds series--sexy, contemporary sports romance novels. See what she's up to at www.tracysolheim.com.

Posted on July 4, 2014, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’ll be taking advantage of the time off to get some writing done (yay!). Then, we’re going out for dinner tonight, followed by fireworks.

  2. Janna Qualman

    I’m having serious trouble accepting the fact that we’re halfway through this year… I mean, July? Already?

    My girls and I are taking it easy today, then later we’re going to our town’s park for the annual festival. We’ll man a booth to raise funds for a club they’re in, and of course watch fireworks tonight.

    Happy Independence Day!

  3. Happy 4th to all who read Women Unplugged as well as those who write for WU!! It’s off to our Alameda Parade and then a BBQ.

  4. Happy Independence Day! I am going to spend the day nudging Susan to get us that apple pie recipe!!!

  5. Happy July 4th, everyone! Up in Canada, we celebrated our country’s birthday on July 1. 🙂

