Batter Up!

As some of you may remember from a previous post, I’ve taken a break from romance writing and I’m working on a very special non-fiction project that is near and dear to my heart. In early June, I traveled to Iowa to interview Terry and Chris Norton, the father and son team behind the SCI CAN Foundation. Chris injured his spinal cord playing football for Luther College in 2010 and has gone on to do wonderful and inspiring things with his life. Chris Norton

My trip to Iowa was life-changing. Not only did I see a part of the country I’d never seen before, but I met an ordinary family who, because of an accident, have gone on to do extraordinary things for others. I met business owners who routinely go out of their way to help Chris and his foundation, young men whose lives have been immeasurably changed by their daily interaction with a friend in a wheelchair, and two communities that banded together and rallied around one of their own.

Let’s face it, heroes are not caped men and women as portrayed in movies and cartoons, they are flesh and blood humans who take life’s lemons and turn them into lemonade. The really special heroes share that lemonade with others. I’ve been blessed to write Chris’ story–blessed in so many ways. The editor I found to help with the book routinely prayed for me. She and her husband prayed for my trip! How awesome is that?

When I wasn’t looking, life threw me a curve ball. Instead of ducking out of the way, I decided to swing for the bleachers–and I’m so glad I did. If you have time, click on the link to the foundation and then check out Chris’ blog. You’ll be glad you did!

 

 

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on July 7, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. So excited to read this story!

  2. barbsilkstone

    Christy, This is wonderful. I can’t wait to read what you have gathered. The Norton’s sound very inspiring.

  3. What a wonderful opportunity for you! I look forward to seeing the book.

  4. What a wonderful, worthy cause!

  5. Catherine Brehm

    Wow – how amazing to be entrusted with such a personal and important story. I am sure the book will be wonderful. I
    look forward to reading about Chris.

  6. I love the picture of the two of you together, Christy. I’m looking forward to more updates on this amazing project!

  7. Janna Qualman

    So inspiring! Both his story, and yours as you wrote about his.

    Good for you!

  8. What a blessed opportunity you have to write Chris’ story. I’m sure it will be an inspiring adventure. I have read all your books and will look forward to reading this special one as well.

  9. Congrats on the new project, Christy. My dad was in a wheelchair the last 20 years of his life, so this subject is near and dear to me. Medicine has made wonderful strides toward a cure for spinal cord injuries – it’s a matter of getting enough funding to support the research. I look forward to reading more about this young man’s story!

  10. I knew Chris from high school and like most of his fellow classmates, I have been following his story since day 1. This book will be amazing! The Norton’s have always been an amazing family so it was no surprise to me they started this foundation 🙂

