When It Rains, It Pours

No, this has nothing to do with the weather, although this summer we’re getting our fair share of rain. No, this post is about family and life and how easily serenity erupts into chaos.

For the last few months, I’ve been peacefully writing away, working on 3 upcoming romantic comedies, until last month, when our youngest son injured his back.

Shortly before the injury, he’d made an offer of purchase on a farm with a possession date of August 15, which gave him lots of time to pack and prepare. Then he hurt his back, and while chaos erupted with doctor appointments, etc, we knew he would need extra help moving, painting, repairs, etc. So we set aside the month of August to help him out.

Family Farm

The farm where I grew up (not the farm my son bought).

Then my in-laws received a call from a senior’s facility. My father-in-law is 95, my mother-in-law is 86, and since 2012 they have rejected 5 apartments in this facility. With a little extra prodding and pushing, they finally made the decision to move in. It’s a good place. They’ll have round-the-clock assistance if needed, and basically everything else like cooking and housekeeping and laundry is taken care of for them.

I think I want to move there too…

With a possession date of August 1, we started to pack up their household, thankful that they would be settled before our son’s move.

But then my mother got booked in for her knee operation. Date: August 7th. Okay, with good planning, we could have the in-laws moved and settled by then. Except my mother-in-law kept procrastinating about calling the movers. I guess she thought that if she ignored it long enough, they wouldn’t have to move.

Needless to say, by the time I said that I would call the movers, the earliest date I could get was August 7th.

While my husband goes one way that day, I’ll be going another. In the meantime, we’re packing boxes for my in-laws, running my mom to last minute doctor, hair, etc appointments, and helping our son get ready for his move.

That old saying “when it rains, it pours” is true. So this may be my last post until mid-September. I’m just saying, if I’m missing in action, you’ll know where I am.

Now tell me, what fun things do you have planned for your summer holiday/vacation? Please share. I want to hear all about the fun things you all are doing! 🙂

About Sheila Seabrook

Author of Single Title Romantic Comedy and Women's Fiction

Posted on July 30, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Don’t forget to take time for yourself this next month! Your family needs you, but not at the risk of your own health and sanity. 🙂

  2. Oh, Sheila! I’m so sorry that everything is happening all at once. Hopefully by the end of the year when everyone is settled in their new homes and on the road to recovery, you can all look back and laugh. In the mean time, take it one day at a time, and be sure not to injure yourself while moving!

  3. You’ll look back on this time and marvel that you did so well and maybe laugh a bit at how life throws you curve balls. You’re doing a lot of juggling right now but you know you can do it.
    We’re going on our summer vacation to Stinson Beach, only an hour away from home. The kids are taking friends and we’re bringing along the dogs and the house we’re renting is on the beach. We’ll have a grand time.

  4. Oh my goodness, sometimes it doesn’t stop, does it? I guess what’s important is looking at the bright side: All of your family is close enough that you can easily be of help to one another (I’m assuming, anyway, that you’re in close proximity to each other), and each is there to count on during trial and transition. It would be so tough if you were too far away to be involved. And think how refreshing (with any luck) and peaceful September will be! 😉 Hang in there. I’ll be thinking of you.

  5. Well I certainly don’t envy you, but come September, you can heave a great sigh of relief and get back into your routine without the extra worry of aging or convalescing relatives. (Hopefully anyway.)

    Try not to worry too much and try to get some sleep. Everything will happen at the right time. It always does. Remember the old adage – haste makes waste. Slow down to hurry up.

    I just got back from the RWA conference, which is always a joyous frenzy of stressful happiness. I’m glad to be home, but miss the constant energy that is conference.

    In about 6 weeks I’ll be leaving for a 10-day cruise to Alaska, where I can escape the California heat and hopefully relax a little. Of course, my writing has suffered terribly, but I’m not going to think about that too much. When the time is right, I’ll pound out the words again.

    Thanks for sharing. Hang in there. Don’t forget to take a little time for yourself (even if it’s just to enjoy a glass of wine).

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

  6. Sheila, I am positive that you will get through this with your usual smile and good nature. Just remember to breathe. I am also taking off the month of August from blogging. Today was the last Wed for me until the first one in September. I plan to work on getting my two on-line shops ready for the HOlidays and dig into my WIP.

    I’ll be thinking of you during these warm, rainy days of summer. See you in September 🙂

  7. It’s so nice to hear about everyone’s summer plans. Although we are going to be busy here, both my husband and I are very organized people. So we’re plotting and planning and looking forward at everything that needs to be done. This is keeping the craziness at bay, and we know everything is going to work out fine. We’re both sleeping like logs at night, that’s for sure. LOL 🙂

  1. Pingback: When It Rains, It Pours | Sheila Seabrook

