Insomnia

ID-10042723

freedigitalphotos.net

For many nights now I’ve dealt with a bit of insomnia: Can’t fall asleep, seems neither my brain nor my body want to turn off; sleeping a few solid hours; waking and lying there for what feels like gobs of time, again unable to turn off my thoughts; falling back to sleep for another few hours; waking early.

Insomnia is defined by dictionary.com as a noun:

the inability to obtain sufficient sleep, especially when chronic; difficulty in falling or staying asleep; sleeplessness.

Reasons for insomnia vary, from medical or psychological issues and medicinal side effects to stress and a poor environment or sleep conditions, and so on.

While the majority of that doesn’t apply to me, there have certainly been stressful events in my life of late (who doesn’t have those?), but honestly, I’m not filled with anxiety. I’ve developed the right methods to deal with my stress, and have come to terms with the life factors over which I have no control, trusting a plan I can’t know ahead of time, living day to day, finding and keeping peace within me, choosing happiness, and so on.

So what’s making it so hard for me to sleep?

I recently read an article online about what it means to experience a spiritual awakening. (You can find the full article by Kristen Butler HERE.) Check out the following excerpt:

Some people who are experiencing a spiritual awakening have trouble falling asleep. What is going on inside keeps you awake. It’s a burning desire and some people know how to direct that energy while others aren’t sure and this is what is primarily keep you awake at night. Most report that they either have trouble falling asleep or they awaken at 2:00 and 4:00 AM.

If you’re experiencing unusual sleep patterns, it’s okay. Just don’t lay there and worry. There’s a lot of work going on within you. It’s a natural process. The best thing to do is go do whatever it is that is calling you to do – for some it is writing.

Given that all the other bulletpoints in the article fit my current place in life and understanding, I’m comfortable concluding that more than anything, my mid-night “adventures” have significant meaning for my spirit. And I actually think that’s pretty cool, so I won’t get too cranky about my current lack of sleep. I mean, enlightening stuff is going on, and who am I to question that?

What about you? Have you ever dealt with insomnia and/or experienced spiritual awakening?

About Janna

writer, editor, marketing assistant, resume consultant, mom, wannabe philosopher, advocate, and possibilitarian / you can call me Janna

Posted on August 6, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Interesting about the spiritual growth possibility, but if it goes on too long, you may want to have your thyroid checked.

    • Thanks for the suggestion, Elaine. I’ll remember that in the future, should the problem persist, but it really does happen to me only intermittently, and always when some sort of personal development is thick. 🙂

  2. My sleep has been impacted by the last year’s stress so I know why it’s happening. I just go with it, try not to get too irritated, and I don’t get up. I rest my body and endeavor to shut off the continuum of thoughts. I exercise and try to eat right, but I find dealing with stress a humungous deal.

    • I think you’re right in your method of remaining in bed, still getting the rest you can. On rare occasions I’ll get up and move around or read, check the internet, something, but that tends to make falling back to sleep even tougher. As torturous as lying in bed awake can be, I think it still allows a certain amount of decompression for our bodies.

  3. Okay, so I can lose the menopause excuse and go with spiritual awakening. It actually sounds much more relaxing. Maybe I’ll sleep more with the change in self diagnosis. 🙂 Thanks for sharing, Janna!

  4. I hate to even put this in writing, but I sleep really well. My sleep suffers whenever I don’t get enough physical activity, but most nights I’m down for the count until sun up. Sounds like you need to keep your computer or a notepad by your bed and get some work done. At least that’s productive!

    • I do! At least jotting some thoughts out would purge things a little…

      And we won’t hold your solid sleep patterns against you. 😉

  5. You certainly could be onto something with trying to diagnose the issue.

    Sadly, I can drink load of caffeine at night and once I decide to go to bed, I am out like a light–I am likely a poor candidate for spiritual growth that can occur in the early morning hours.

    • Well, I hate to have sounded flippant about it, as though I’m taking a potentially significant diagnosis into my own hands. If I were having a truly serious problem, I would pursue more substantial means of understanding. But as I said in another comment above, because I can recognize that my insomnia is intermittent, and always corresponds with some kind of personal development, the logical conclusion is that it is related to my soul’s inner workings. Sounds hippie-ish, I know, but I do believe there’s truth to it.

      Alright, SD, we won’t hold the great sleep patterns against you, either. 🙂

  6. I don’t really have insomnia, I’m just a night owl. I can be wide awake at 2 a.m., which makes it really difficult to get up at 7:30 when the alarm goes off! Ideally, I would sleep from 2 am to 10 am, but life doesn’t let me do that.

    I can’t say that I’ve ever been able to tie insomnia to a spiritual awakening, but I do have trouble sleeping when I’ve had an epiphany of some kind. Or maybe that’s just a different way of saying the same thing.

  1. Pingback: Insomnia | Woman, Determined

