My book ban

UnknownI’m currently on deadline with book number two. It’s not the deadline that’s tight, but the amount of editing and rewriting I need to cram in before this manuscript is where I want it to be. I think I can get it done, assuming September brings no emergencies or disasters, but I’m not 100% sure. Not yet. Not until I figure out just how extensive the rewrites are going to be, and for that I have to keep writing. 

And so, to keep myself on schedule, I am on reading lockdown. I’ve shut down my Kindle and hidden my TBR pile. That new Susan Elizabeth Phillips that just popped up on my iPad? Haven’t opened it. That new Kresley Cole on my Audible app? Haven’t clicked on it. For weeks and weeks, y’all!

I miss books. I MISS them! I miss cracking one open and getting a whiff of paper and ink. I miss settling in with a glass of wine and my Kindle on the back porch. I miss waking up with my iPad on my face because I just had to read one more chapter. I miss feeling my heart pound and my stomach swirl with fear or anger or love. I miss forgetting all the stuff in my life and getting swept away in someone else’s. I miss everything about books.

Yes, I’m getting a lot done on my own, but if this little experiment has taught me anything, it’s that I have willpower of steel. Now if I could just figure out how to apply it to french fries and chocolate.

So yes, Janna, I will pick up a book and study it, but not until October. 

About Kimberly S. Belle

Kimberly Belle grew up in Eastern Tennessee, in a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachians. A graduate of Agnes Scott College in Decatur, Georgia, Kimberly lived for over a decade in the Netherlands and has worked in marketing and fundraising for various nonprofits. She's the author of two novels, THE LAST BREATH and THE ONES WE TRUST (August 2015). She divides her time between Atlanta and Amsterdam. Keep up with Kimberly on Facebook (www.facebook.com/KimberlyBelleBooks), Twitter (@KimberlySBelle), or via her website at www.kimberlybellebooks.com.

Posted on August 28, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I hear you. It’s hard to read sometimes when you spend so much time writing!!

  2. You’re a strong soul! I don’t think I could do it. But then, you have a hugely valid reason.

    And alright, you’re forgiven. 😉

