Labor Day in the Garden

What are you doing this Labor Day? I’m hanging out in my garden. From vegetables to flowers, I can’t bear to say goodbye to summer but alas, fall is on its way. Fall foliage is great, and I love the brilliant burst of yellow, gold and red as much as anyone, but color is my middle name—the brighter the better. But with all the pumpkins and scarecrows crowding their way onto my doorstep, what’s a gal to do?

hidden pumpkin treasure

Fight every squash vine and straw bale she can with the power of pinch.

Pinch?

You bet. Pinch, as in pinch back those faded and dying blooms on my summer favorites, like Guinea Impatiens, geraniums, begonias… It will encourage the growth of new blooms and prolong their beauty. Give me another month, please! I’ve only a few left before the first freeze!

begonia

Of course, there is always my vegetable garden to fall back on. The first day of September marks the beginning of my fall gardening season and I am SO ready. My patio is littered with sprouts. I start them on my patio before transplanting because it’s simply too hot for these tender little darlings outside this time of year in Florida. Tomatoes and peppers like it warm, but my broccoli and kale and lettuce do not. So I give them a “cool” start under the screen.

patio sprouts by the pool

And next to the pool where I can take a dip–it is Labor Day after all!

Hope you’re enjoying yours. For my gardening friends, be sure to check out my garden blog: BloominThyme. I’ve just started a new section called “How To Grow” making it super easy to find what you’re looking for when it comes to gardening instructions. While you’re there, take a peek at the recipes! I’m sure you’ll find something to enjoy this holiday…

Posted on September 1, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I’m jealous of your green thumb, Dianne!

  2. Dianne, how do you manage to grow such beautiful vegetables in Florida? Here in North Carolina, the heat and humidity bring critters and diseases. By mid-July, half the crops are pretty well spent. I’ll need to check out your blog to pick up some tips!

  3. I’m not surprised you were in the garden! 🙂

    I spent the day with someone special, doing low-key things. A perfect day!

