Peace Is the Way

Peace buttonsIn my last post, I mentioned that I had signed up for the 21-day “Expanding Your Happiness” Meditation Experience from Deepak Chopra and Oprah Winfrey. It’s been an interesting 3 weeks, forcing myself to sit quietly for 20 minutes a day, while getting ready for a book launch.

One of the most memorable meditations was the one on serenity. Chopra quoted the saying, “There is no way to peace. Peace is the way.”

With so much war in the news right now, that saying seems particularly apt. You can’t fight your way to peace. Maybe you can fight your way to domination. But the discontent will continue to stir.

The only way you can truly find peace is to make peace your starting point. To reject the idea of conflict. To live and let live.

And if that’s true, then peace is a choice.

Now, don’t get me wrong. Peace isn’t easy. Not unless everyone around you also chooses peace, which they won’t.

But the decision of whether to engage is yours. When someone disagrees with you, you can argue, or you can stop talking.

It seems I’m constantly relearning this lesson. In the echo chamber that is Facebook, I’ll occasionally try to make a point that differs by maybe five percent from what the other commenters are saying. Utter waste of time. No one cares what you think, unless you’re agreeing with them. There’s a place for discourse, but Facebook isn’t it.

Life is too short to argue with people who aren’t listening. As long as they’re not hurting anyone, let them have their opinions, even if they’re demonstrably wrong. Peace is about choosing serenity inside yourself, and engaging positively with others when you can. And when you can’t, the best use of your time is to walk away.

As the prayer says, accept the things you cannot change.

I’m still working on that one.

What about you? How do you find serenity?

About AndreaJWenger

Andrea J. Wenger is an award-winning writer and editor in Raleigh, North Carolina. She specializes in the fields of creative, technical, and freelance writing.

Posted on September 3, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. We learned about Eckhart Tolle from Oprah…and learned to not give others the power to upset us (he has this theory of the pain-body). I am still a work in progress but my hubby has really done well at embracing Tolle’s precepts. Thanks for sharing, we have learned to be much more peaceful…and I am not on FB but I understand about being that ‘voice in the wind’, lol.

  2. I certainly don’t find my peace on Facebook! I find my peace in quiet time with God. I do Bible Study during the school year and it helps to focus my mind on something bigger and more important than me. Keep us posted on the book launch.

    • Great reminder, Christy. That’s one of the reasons I wanted to start this meditation routine. If we’re constantly busy, with our minds racing, we won’t hear the voice of God talking to us. That requires quiet and stillness.

      Thanks for asking about the book launch! I released the novella on Tuesday, and it’s available on Kindle. It’s pretty spicy, though, so I won’t share the details here. You can find out more on my website under my pen name: http://www.AndreaDalling.com.

  3. This post speaks to me (like your last one) since for a few months I’ve focused on personal development as pertains to inner peace, and acceptance of life the way it is.

    Serenity for me lately has come from a meditation technique I derived from some advice in the book The Heart of the Soul: Emotional Awareness. (To summarize: We have 7 energy centers in our body, and we should focus on only love and trust coming in and leaving them. I do this multiple times a day… either whenever I think about it, or just flat need to.) This is when I feel most at peace, and in tune with God and what He wants me to “hear” and absorb. It’s been life changing.

    Eckhart Tolle has great wisdom and insight! If you follow him on Facebook, you’ll get some quality things in your feed. 😉

    Best with your book launch!

  4. Thanks, Janna! I’ll look into that book. Sounds interesting.Lately, I’ve been focusing on the words of the Dalai Lama: “My religion is simple. Kindness is my religion.” It’s easy to get caught up in negativity, but the person you hurt most is yourself. I’m far from perfect, but I’m trying to get better.

