Scene of the Day

Occasionally I’ll observe something that I consider a “Scene of the Day,” because in some way it speaks to me, or catches my attention, gives me pause.

There was the time my daughter won a stuffed animal in a claw machine, and ran after the boy who’d tried minutes before her, so she could give the coveted bear to him. And there was the time I saw a young nun, habit and all, bounding joyfully through light rain.

Maybe it was my beau across the table from me in a fantastic, aromatic coffee shop. Or a sweet smudge of chocolate in the middle of my other daughter’s forehead.

Sometimes it’s a quieter moment, very small, one I don’t share with anyone. I might see a man who—in a single second—reminds me of my dad, who is gone now. Or maybe I’ll see a baby who looks not unlike my girls used to, strapped in its infant carrier, face winched tight as it cries its need, some need, any need. In both of these instances my heart will soften and dive toward memory.

This last weekend we had a garage sale at our home, like others. Many Amish families came from the community close by, to shop the town-wide event. A youthful mom asked if her tiny boy might use my bathroom. I gave permission and, one after the other, seven Amish folks filed into my house. (I suppose where one goes, they all go.) It was a sight to behold, as well as ruminate over. (I stepped in, as well, and saw that each used the facilities.)

Last night I studied the beautiful moon outside my bedroom window, and then several minutes later from my back stoop to get a clearer, more striking look. (Side Note: Unbeknownst to me, a friend was at the same time messaging me to go take in the moon, because he knew I was frustrated about something and thought it would do me well. I love connection like that.) (Side Note 2: Have you ever noticed the still and peace that accompanies an effort to absorb nature or weather or the cosmos?)

Maybe my point is, one scene has an impact, then the next, and another. If you’re paying attention, they all add up to a significant facet of life. Don’t you agree?

Tell us about your latest Scene of the Day.

[image credit: freedigitalphotos.net]

About Janna

writer, editor, marketing assistant, resume consultant, mom, wannabe philosopher, advocate, and possibilitarian / you can call me Janna

Posted on October 8, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. What a lovely post, Janna. And what a wonderful way to wake up my day. I am going to try and observe more. The way you tell your story makes the small bits and pieces of life important, no matter how benign they seem. Thank you for this.

  2. Lovely, Janna, just lovely! It’s the babies that do it for me–a reminder of things past and things to come. And puppies. Saw one today 🙂

  3. Janna, what beautiful thoughts. You remind me that I don’t stop often enough to see what’s around me. Or maybe I don’t get out often enough to see the rest of the world. 🙂 My ultimate favorite scene-of-the-day is always when I encounter a two to four year old boy. Their spirit reminds me of my boys at that age…the precious hugs and smiles, and the pure joy they project as they encounter each new experience in their world.

  4. I appreciate the kind words, ladies! And thanks for sharing some of your scenes, too. 🙂

