Watch Out for Flying Pigs!

Why, you ask? Because for the first time ever, I’m sharing a recipe on Women Unplugged. It’s not that I don’t like to share, but I’m not exactly known for my cooking. But if I had a signature recipe, a recipe others routinely requested, it would be this. Pumpkin Bread.medium_5274906480

That’s it? Pumpkin bread? Pumpkin bread recipes are a dime a dozen. Yes, I know. But this one is better. Guaranteed. Go ahead and make it and see if I’m wrong… You can thank me later 😉

Pumpkin Bread:

1 tsp. grated nutmeg
1 tsp. ground cinnamon
1-1/2 tsp. salt
2 tsp. baking soda
3 cups all-purpose flour
3 cups granulated sugar (a little less if you add white chocolate chips)
1 cup cooked, mashed or canned pumpkin
2/3 cup water
1 cup cooking oil
4 eggs
1 bag white chocolate chips (optional, but why wouldn’t you?? Dark may also be substituted, but white is better)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Combine the nutmeg, cinnamon, salt, baking soda, flour and sugar in large mixing bowl. Add the pumpkin, water, oil, and eggs and mix well. Spray or grease three 11 to 13 ounce coffee cans (or loaf pans) and divide the batter evenly among the cans or pans.

Bake for one hour or more, until brown or until a bamboo skewer comes out clean. Stand the cans upright on a rack for 15 minutes. Invert cans and remove the bread. Serve warm or stand the break upright on a rack and cool and wrap. Can also be made as muffins or even sheet cake.

Savor this moment, WU fans. It won’t happen again 🙂
photo credit: mccun934 via photopin cc

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on November 10, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I’ve never heard of baking bread in coffee cans. I’ll have to try that! I knew you were hiding your culinary skills from us. 😉

  2. I’m so impressed, Christy!

  3. Yummm, my family would love this. Thanks for sharing, Christy! 🙂

  4. Ohh, that looks GOOD.

