On being thankful

This Thanksgiving will be the first in, well, ever that my family has been incomplete. The first time my son, a college junior, can’t come home, not even for a day or two, because he’s currently on the other side of the Atlantic. Strangely enough, the French consider the fourth Thursday in November to be just any other jeudi. Evan has classes, and so I have to figure out how to celebrate the holiday without him in it.

For me, that means planning an unconventional celebration. One that includes plane tickets and hotel rooms and restaurant reservations. Someone else will plan and cook the meal. Someone else will be polishing the silver and setting the table. But it seems more than appropriate, considering 1/4 of my family is on the other side of the planet, that we don’t gather around mine.

This doesn’t mean our Thanksgiving is cancelled, only postponed, or that I’m not thankful every day, because I am. For my friends and family, for my community of writers and their never-ending support, for my readers who seem to genuinely like me and my story, for the fact that I get to sit around in my pajamas all day and make stuff up for a living. Maybe that’s the lesson here — that giving thanks shouldn’t only happen a year.

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

About Kimberly S. Belle

Kimberly Belle grew up in Eastern Tennessee, in a small town nestled in the foothills of the Appalachians. A graduate of Agnes Scott College in Decatur, Georgia, Kimberly lived for over a decade in the Netherlands and has worked in marketing and fundraising for various nonprofits. She's the author of two novels, THE LAST BREATH and THE ONES WE TRUST (August 2015). She divides her time between Atlanta and Amsterdam. Keep up with Kimberly on Facebook (www.facebook.com/KimberlyBelleBooks), Twitter (@KimberlySBelle), or via her website at www.kimberlybellebooks.com.

Posted on November 21, 2014, in Blog Posts. Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Sorry you’ll be missing your son this year, Kimberly. Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours. You’re right–we should be thankful everyday because there’s a lot to be thankful for.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving to you, Kimberly! We’re entering those years when the family dynamic changes and it’s a little scary, I know. But it makes the times you do spend with your kids much more special.

    • You know it, Tracy, and this is the opportunity of a lifetime for him, so who am I to complain? I don’t mind waiting until Christmas to get to celebrate together. Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. Happy Thanksgiving, Kimberly. We’re hosting Thanksgiving like we always do but I know there will come a day when we can’t all be together and we’ll have to go “non-traditional” but I’ll still be happy that my family is alive and healthy.
    Patti

  4. Transitions are hard, but Christmas in Paris is a excellent trade-off for not having your son home for Thanksgiving. Enjoy!

  5. It’s a difficult adjustment, makes a person wish their children could remain young forever. 🙂 Happy Thanksgiving, Kimberly!

  6. Being thankful everyday. That’s really what it’s about, isn’t it?

