Oh, The Irony…

I love irony. The best thing about an ironic situation is the way it sneaks up on you. This Holiday season, for example, I thought it would be a good time of year to have elective surgery. That sounds like plastic surgery, but no. That’s a slippery slope I’m too chicken to attempt. I had foot surgery to repair the torn ligament in my right foot. I’d spent eight weeks earlier in the year wearing a boot to try and get the darn thing to heal on its own, but it never did. So…

We’d met our deductible, the kids were almost out of school (which meant another driver was available), and my husband would be around considering he hadn’t scheduled any travel due to his recent knee surgery. And really, there would never be a good time to be unable to drive for two weeks.

The surgery went well, I was numb for two days so I thought I’d have an easy recovery, and then WHAM! Suddenly my foot had a pulse of its own and I was in pain. My husband’s supposedly light work schedule had him running from one meeting to another, and as soon as finals were over, my son came down with some feverish virus. In a nutshell, we were a hot mess.

As I sat on the couch, working on the book about Chris Norton who lives his life in a wheelchair, the irony of the situation smacked me in the face. I’m totally blessed because my situation is temporary. I’m going to fine soon, my son will get better, and my husband won’t leave me because I’m a little bossy, impatient, and needy for a few days (right, honey?)

So I’m done whining. And if I’m a little bored sitting on the couch watching mindless TV (or endless episodes of yet another Alaska show on the Discovery channel thanks to the hubs who leaves the remote suspiciously out of reach), I’m going to suck it up and remember the reason for the season and how truly blessed I am. Merry Christmas and Happy Holidays to all from the very blessed (if not a little irritable) Hayes Family! May your season be merry and bright 😉

About Christy Hayes

A wife, a mother and a writer of romantic women's fiction. I love dogs, exercise and cable news.

Posted on December 22, 2014, in Blog Posts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Cookies are on the way!!

  2. Happy Holidays to you, Christy! I guess we all can look at our personal troubles and see that they pale in comparison to many people. I hope you’re much better today and you can bring in the New Year without a fever!
    Patti

  3. Merry Christmas, Christy! There’s nothing like a little adversity to remind us how good our lives are in general. Glad you’re able to keep some perspective on the situation. Wishing you a speedy recovery and a happy new year!

  4. Christy, funny how life explodes all at once, isn’t it? Well, maybe not so funny at the time. 🙂 Here’s wishing you and your foot a speedy recover!

  5. I’m nearby and happy to help out if you need me!! Merry Christmas, my friend!

  6. Goodness, what a deal! Your perspective is a good one, but I still hate that you’ve been down and out. Glad to see you’re on the mend.

    Happy New Year, Christy!

